Un voyage dans le temps à Battle Harbour

Vous trouverez une petite île où le temps s'est arrêté depuis deux siècles au large du Labrador. Visitez Battle Harbor et découvrez comment les premiers colons de l'île ont survécu sur ce petit bout de terre. Faites une visite guidée, parcourez les sentiers autour de l'île et remontez le temps lors de votre voyage à Battle Harbour.

Vous n'avez pas le temps de lire maintenant ? Épinglez-le pour plus tard!

The green hills of Battle Harbour with the Church in the distance
tow abandoned fisherman houses on the coast of Battle Harbour

Où se trouve Battle Harbour?

Battle Harbour est une petite communauté sur l'île Battle à 14 kilomètres au large de la côte du Labrador dans les Maritimes. L'île n'est accessible que par bateau. Elle est connue comme la capitale historique non-officielle du Labrador.

Pourquoi visiter Battle Harbour?

Remontez dans le temps sur cette petite île et découvrez comment cette communauté a prospéré et survécu dans les années 1700 et 1800 et comment quelques familles l'habitent encore. Les bâtiments d'origine restaurés et l'impressionnante collection d'antiquités d'une autre époque racontent des histoires que les habitants partagent fièrement avec nous. 

Un peu d'histoire

Battle Harbour se trouve sur la rive accidentée d'une coulée (ruisseau étroit entre deux terres). La rive opposée est l'île Great Caribou. Il y avait autrefois une colonie sur l'île Caribou, mais elle a été abandonnée et la plupart des maisons ont été démolies. Un reste. La plupart des bâtiments de Battle Harbour ont été préservés et restaurés dans leur aspect et leur atmosphère d'origine.

abandoned house on Great Caribou Island across Battle Harbour

Le tour de bateau de Mary's Harbour à Battle Harbour

En attendant le traversier à Mary's Harbour, vous pouvez vous arrêter au Great Caribou Studio. Ils ont des souvenirs, des objets d'artisanat d'artistes locaux, du café, du thé ou du chocolat chaud avec toutes sortes de pâtisseries. 

Le Trinity Pride vous emmènera sur l'île de Battle Harbour en une heure et demie. C'est un petit bateau qui peut accueillir une douzaine de personnes. Vous pouvez également sortir sur le pont arrière pour mieux voir les îles environnantes pendant le trajet. 

Trinity Pride's Ferry to take passengers to Battle Harbour

En peu de temps, vous apercevrez les petites maisons et l'église à tribord. Au fur et à mesure que le bateau se rapproche, la petite communauté devient visible où des maisons blanches et rouges sont dispersées sur la colline de l'île. 

Battle Harbour as seen from the boat with scattered fishermen's houses and the hills in the background
Battle Harbour as seen from the boat with the village's building and church on the grassy hill.

À quoi s'attendre lors de votre visite à Battle Harbour

Un tour guidé de Battle Harbour

La visite guidée vous emmènera dans les différents bâtiments qui représentaient un élément essentiel de la survie sur l'île. Les habitants travaillaient d'arrache-pied pour subvenir aux besoins de leurs familles. 

Le guide, un résident de Battle Harbour, vous conduira à la porcherie, à la saumonerie, à la maison des phoques et aux maisons de sel et de farine, à l'église et au poste de garde forestier, tout en vous racontant des histoires de son enfance et des anecdotes de sa famille, habitant l'île depuis 5 générations. 

Vous aurez l'occasion de contempler la vaste collection d'antiquités et d'artefacts d'une autre époque. 

Le magasin général

Initialement le magasin général, ce bâtiment est maintenant une boutique de souvenirs avec des produits et des artefacts de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Il sert également de bureau d'enregistrement pour les arrivées et les départs. 

La salle à manger

La salle à manger est joliment décorée. Il y a des horaires fixes pour le petit-déjeuner, le déjeuner et le dîner. La cuisine préparée par le chef sur place est excellente, tout comme le service.

Nous avons eu le plaisir de goûter leur gratiné de morue et le poulet curry à l'érable; les deux étaient délicieux. Vous pouvez acheter des boissons pour le dîner ; le vin, au verre ou la bouteille et la bière sont disponibles. 

the dinning table set for dinner with chandeliers hanging from the ceiling
La salle à manger

Le loft

Au-dessus du magasin général se trouve le loft. C'est le seul endroit de l'île avec wifi. Il n'y a pas de service cellulaire à Battle Harbour. Le loft est l'endroit où les visiteurs peuvent passer la soirée à se détendre, lire, boire un verre et socialiser tout en partageant des histoires d'aventure et de voyage avec d'autres visiteurs.

L'endroit est une salle chaleureuse et accueillante avec des canapés et des chaises longues, des jeux et, de temps en temps, de la musique live.

couches and comfy chairs with a wall bookcase
Le loft

La randonnée à Battle Harbour

Le Battle Harbour Footpath fait le tour de l'île. Il s'agit d'une randonnée facile de 2 kilomètres sur un sentier rocheux. Le sentier offre des vues impressionnantes sur l'océan. Il amène également les randonneurs sur un site commémoratif d'un accident d'avion où trois jeunes hommes ont perdu la vie en 1976. 

En suivant le sentier, les randonneurs rencontrent les ruines de la station de radio Marconi. Deux hautes tours ont depuis remplacé la gare. Deux cimetières des années 1780 et 1900 se trouvent également le long du sentier avec des pierres tombales bien conservées représentant les familles qui résident sur l'île depuis des générations. 

Les randonneurs peuvent s'arrêter prendre une pause sur des bancs qui font face à l'océan. 

Dirt packed hiking trail on Battle Island behind Battle Harbour
View of two abandoned houses from the hiking trail on Battle Island

Le sentier est une boucle et ramène les randonneurs dans la petite communauté sur la colline. Vous pouvez faire la boucle soit en commençant derrière la grande église blanche et rouge, soit derrière la maison du Marchant. 

Hiking the trail in Battle Harbour with the church in the distance surrounded by grassy and rocky hills

Hébergement à Battle Harbour

Lors de vos réservations pour Battle Harbour, le forfait comprendra soit une chambre dans la maison du Marchant, soit dans l'auberge Battle Harbour ou soit dans un des chalets rustiques. Les chambres et les chalets ont été préservés pour ressembler aux habitations d'origine des marchands et des pêcheurs.

Nous avons choisi la chambre Henry Jones dans la maison du Marchant lors de notre séjour à Battle Harbour. C'était une grande chambre charmante et rustique avec une entrée privée sur un balcon donnant sur la communauté et le port. 

buildings of Battle Harbour on the grassy hill by the shore
Vue du balcon de la chambre Henry Jones

Réservations et forfaits lors de votre visite à Battle Harbour

Il est nécessaire de faire des réservations pour visiter Battle Harbour. Vous devrez également choisir le nombre de jours/nuits à passer sur l'île. Je recommande deux nuits. Différentes activités sont également disponibles selon le forfait choisi pour votre séjour.

Le forfait comprend automatiquement le bateau pour Battle Harbour, les repas et votre chambre. De plus, certains forfaits incluent diverses activités telles que la pêche, des excursions en bateau et la fabrication d'artisanat.

Other Information About Your Trip to Battle Harbour

  • Le bateau quitte Mary's Harbour quotidiennement à 11 h.
  • Le diner sera servi dans la salle à manger à votre arrivée à Battle Harbour.
  • Une visite guidée de l'île est offerte en après-midi.
  • Vous aurez amplement de temps après la visite guidée pour compléter le sentier de randonnée.
  • Le souper est servi dans la salle à manger à 18 h.
  • Les soirées sont souvent passées dans le loft avec les autres voyageurs.
  • Le bateau quitte Battle Harbour pour le retour à 9 h après le déjeuner.

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur les forfaits disponibles et la liste de prix sur le site web où vous pourrez également faire les réservations pour votre séjour à Battle Harbour.

Une autre île à explorer

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador regorge d'îles, grandes et petites, pas trop éloignées des côtes. Si vous aimez visiter des îles charmantes avec une histoire riche, vous apprécierez Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, au sud de Terre-Neuve.

.

Articles similaires

4 Comments

      1. Loving the pics. If I didn’t read this post I would have sworn you were in the uk. I had no idea places in Canada looked like this.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Step Back in Time with a Trip to Battle Harbour

You will find a small island off the shores of Labrador where time has stood still for the past two centuries. Visit Battle Harbour and discover how the island’s first settlers survived on this tiny bit of land. Take a tour of the grounds, hike the trails around the island and step back in time on your trip to Battle Harbour.

Don’t have time to read? Pin it for later.

The green hills of Battle Harbour with the Church in the distance
tow abandoned fisherman houses on the coast of Battle Harbour

Where is Battle Harbour

Battle Harbour is a small community on Battle Island, 14 kilometres off the coast of Labrador in Atlantic Canada. It can only be reached by ferry. It is known as the unofficial historic capital of Labrador.

Why visit Battle Harbour

Step back in time on this tiny island and discover how this community thrived and survived in the 1700s and 1800s and how a few families still call it home. The restored original buildings and impressive collection of antiques from another era tell stories that locals proudly share with us. 

A bit of History

Battle Harbour sits on the rugged shore of a tickle (narrow stream between two lands). The opposite shore is Great Caribou Island. There used to be a settlement on Caribou Island, but it was abandoned, and most houses have been torn down. One remains. Most of the buildings on Battle Harbour have been preserved and restored to their original look and feel.

abandoned house on Great Caribou Island across Battle Harbour

The Ferry from Mary’s Harbour to Battle Harbour

While you wait for the ferry in Mary’s Harbour, you can stop at the Great Caribou Studio. They have souvenirs, arts and crafts from local artists, and coffee, tea or hot chocolate with all kinds of pastries. 

The Trinity Pride will take you to the island of Battle Harbour in an hour and a half. It is a small boat that seats maybe a dozen people. You can also step outside on the back deck during the ride for a better look at the surrounding islands. 

Trinity Pride's Ferry to take passengers to Battle Harbour

In no time, you will see the tiny houses and the church come into view on the starboard side. As the boat gets closer, the little community becomes visible, where white and red houses are scattered on the island’s hillside. 

Battle Harbour as seen from the boat with scattered fishermen's houses and the hills in the background
Battle Harbour as seen from the boat with the village's building and church on the grassy hill.

What to expect on your Trip to Battle Harbour

Guided tour of Battle Harbour

The guided tour will take you to the different buildings that were an essential part of survival on the island. The islanders came together and worked hard to provide for their families. 

The guide, a 5th generation resident of Battle Harbour, will bring you to the pork house, the salmon house, the seal house, the salt and flour houses, the church and the ranger station while telling you stories of his childhood and stories from 5 generations back. 

You will have the opportunity to contemplate the extensive collection of antiques and ancient artifacts from another era. 

General Store and registration desk

Initially the General Store, this building is now a souvenir shop with Newfoundland and Labrador products and artifacts. It also doubles as the registration desk for check-ins and check-outs. 

Dining Hall

The Dining Hall is beautifully decorated. There are set times for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food prepared by the on-site chef is excellent, and so is the service.

We had the pleasure of tasting their cod gratiné and the maple curry chicken; both were delicious. You can buy drinks for dinner; wine comes by the glass, or the bottle and beer are also available. 

the dinning table set for dinner with chandeliers hanging from the ceiling
Dining Hall

The Loft

Above the General Store is the loft. It is the only place on the island with wifi. There is no cellular service on Battle Harbour. The loft is where visitors can spend the evening relaxing, reading, having a drink and socializing while sharing adventure and travel stories with other visitors.

The place is a warm and inviting room with couches and lounge chairs, games, and, from time to time, live entertainment.

couches and comfy chairs with a wall bookcase
The Loft

Hiking Trails on Battle Harbour

The Battle Harbour Footpath makes its way all around the island. It is an easy 2-kilometre hike on a rocky trail. The trail features impressive views of the ocean. It also brings hikers to a plane crash memorial site where the accident claimed the lives of three young men in 1976. 

Following the path, hikers come across the ruins of the Marconi radio station. Two high towers have since replaced the station. Two cemeteries circa 1780 and 1900 are also along the trail, with well-preserved headstones telling of the families that have been island residents for generations. 

Hikers can take a break on benches that look out to the ocean. 

Dirt packed hiking trail on Battle Island behind Battle Harbour
View of two abandoned houses from the hiking trail on Battle Island

The trail is a loop and brings hikers back to the small community on the hillside. You can make the loop starting either behind the big white and red church or the white and green Merchant’s Building. 

Hiking the trail in Battle Harbour with the church in the distance surrounded by grassy and rocky hills

Accommodations on Battle Harbour

When making your reservations for Battle Harbour, the package will come with either a room in the Merchant’s Building, in the Battle Harbour Inn or a rustic cottage. The rooms and the cottages have been preserved to feel like the original dwellings of the merchants and fishermen.

We used the Henry Jones room in the Merchant’s Building during our stay at Battle Harbour. It was a large, charming, rustic room with a private entrance on a balcony overlooking the community and the harbour. 

buildings of Battle Harbour on the grassy hill by the shore
View from the Henry Jones room’s balcony

Reservations and Packages for your Trip to Battle Harbour

It is necessary to make reservations to visit Battle Harbour. You will also need to choose how many days/nights to spend on the island. I recommend two nights. Different activities are also available to book upon reserving your stay.

The package will automatically include the ferry to Battle Harbour, the meals and your room. In addition, different packages may include various activities such as fishing, boat tours, and arts and crafts.

Other Information About Your Trip to Battle Harbour

  • The ferry departs Mary’s Harbour at 11 am
  • When you arrive, you will have lunch in Battle Harbour served in the dining hall.
  • After lunch, the guided tour is available to visitors.
  • You will have time for the hike after the guided tour.
  • Dinner is served in the dining hall.
  • Evenings are often spent in the Loft.
  • The return ferry leaves Battle Harbour at 9 am after breakfast.

You can find more information on available packages and pricing online, where you can also book your stay at Battle Harbour.

More Trips like Battle Harbour

Newfoundland and Labrador are full of islands, big and small, not too far off their rugged coastline. If you like visiting charming islands with rich history, you will enjoy Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, south of Newfoundland.

.

Similar Posts