Randonnée au cap Split

Le parc provincial Cape Split en Nouvelle-Écosse propose deux sentiers avec des belvédères fantastiques. Le sentier Minas Basin et le sentier Scots Bay forment une boucle qui attire les randonneurs de tous âges. La randonnée du cap Split mène les randonneurs à de nombreux belvédères sur la baie de Fundy jusqu'au bout de la pointe où se trouvent des formations rocheuses surprenantes et une mer sans fin. 

À propos de la randonnée au cap Split

Length

13 km Loop

Level

modéré

début du sentier

Cape Split Rd.

Gain

350 m

Time

3 hours

Children

appropriate

Where

Scots Bay, NS

Dogs

on a leash

Se rendre au parc provincial Cape Split

Le parc provincial Cape Split est situé près de Scots Bay dans la vallée d'Annapolis en Nouvelle-Écosse, sur la rive de la baie de Fundy. 

De Halifax – Suivez la NS-101 Ouest sur environ 80 km jusqu'à la NS-358 Nord sur 35 km jusqu'à Scots Bay. Ce trajet dure environ 1 h 45.

Le parc est ouvert toute l'année, mais il est sans service et sans personnel.

Épinglez pour plus tard

Rock pillars of the Cape Split Trail Lookout
les pilliers rocheux de la randonnée du cap Split

Le sentier Cape Split

Début du sentier

Le stationnement de Cape Split est situé au bout du chemin Cape Split. C'est un grand terrain en gravier avec des tables de pique-nique et des toilettes voûtées. Le début du sentier se trouve à l'extrême droite du terrain du côté nord.

vans and cars in the parking at the Cape Split Hike trailhead with Scots Bay in the background

Description de la randonnée au cap Split

Les sentiers Minas Basin et Scots Bay mènent au cap Split. Les deux sentiers se rejoignent maintenant pour former une boucle offrant aux randonneurs une troisième option lors d'une randonnée dans le parc provincial Cape Split. De grandes parties de ces deux sentiers sont larges et bien entretenues. Vous pouvez vous attendre à des montées et des descentes, mais tout en douceur. Ces sentiers sont parfaits pour une promenade dans les bois ou même la course à pied.

Il y a au moins 12 kilomètres jusqu'au point de vue, selon le chemin que vous empruntez. Assurez-vous d'avoir suffisamment d'eau et des vêtements appropriés. Évidemment, des chaussures de randonnée sont aussi une bonne option. Attendez-vous à rencontrer de la boue, surtout s'il a plu au cours des derniers jours avant votre randonnée. Je recommande également des collations à déguster au point de vue. Voilà quelques idées de collations pour la randonnée.

The large dirt-packed Cape Split trail in the forest.
A hiker walking on a footbridge on the Cape Split Trail in the forest.

Le sentier Minas Basin

Le sentier Minas Basin est de 6 kilomètres et le chemin le plus direct vers le point de vue du cap Split. Ce sentier suit la crête est de la mesa. C'est un sentier bien entretenu, principalement large avec quelques parties étroites. Il erre sous le couvert forestier. Il y a quelques belvédères le long du chemin. Certains sont envahis par la végétation. Les belvédères dégagés sur la baie de Fundy offrent une vue sur les eaux bleues claires et des parties de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Nouveau-Brunswick au loin.

The view of the Minas Basin on Cape Split Hike
belvédère Minas Basin

Le sentier Scots Bay

Le sentier Scots Bay est plus récent et permet aux randonneurs de faire une boucle de 13 kilomètres. Il suit le côté ouest de la mesa et fait 7 kilomètres aller-retour. Il peut être très boueux, mais c'est un large sentier sinueux dans la forêt. Ce sentier offre lui aussi de beaux belvédères sur la baie et les anses.

Lobster Hole Lookout on the Cape Split Trail
belvédère Lobster Hole
Big Cove lookout on the Cape Split Hike
belvédère Big Cove

Le point de vue du cap Split

Vous saurez que vous approchez de la fin du sentier lorsque les arbres disparaissent et font place à une prairie d'herbes hautes. Les deux sentiers s'arrêtent à une parcelle de prairie d'où la vue imprenable sur la mer bleue et les piliers rocheux est un spectacle époustouflant. La vue est incroyable quand le soleil brille, à marée haute ou basse. 

The grassy top of the sea stack in the Bay of Fundy at the end of the Cape Split trail

C'est aussi un endroit populaire pour observer les oiseaux, car des centaines de goélands et de cormorans se perchent sur les piliers rocheux, volent ou flottent sur l'eau en contrebas. 

Faites attention aux falaises car elles se dressent à 60 mètres de haut au-dessus de la mer avec des rochers parsemés à leurs pieds. Les roches et le sol peuvent être glissants. Restez à l'écart du bord. L'érosion est apparente et le sol pourrait céder sans prévenir.

Looking out to the Bay of Fundy from the trail
Cape Split Lookout with sea stack and vertical cliffs in the Bay of Fundy

Cape Split Hike is one of the most popular hikes in Nova Scotia, but this province has much to offer in terms of outdoor adventures. The site Web de la Nouvelle-Écosse comprend de l'informations sur ses parcs et les activités.

Autres randonnées comme celle de Cape Split

Hébergement près du parc provincial Cape Split

Encore plus en Nouvelle-Écosse

Vous avez amplement de temps pour visiter la Nouvelle-Écosse? Planifiez le le road trip parfait qui comprend tous les incontournables de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Vous voudrez inclure Lunenburg avec ce guide des meilleures attractions à Lunenburg.

.

Articles similaires

Cape Split Hike to Astounding Views

Cape Split Provincial Park in Nova Scotia features two trails with fantastic lookouts. The Minas Basin Trail and the Scots Bay Trail make up a loop that attracts hikers of all ages. The Cape Split hike leads hikers from many lookouts over the Bay of Fundy to the end of the point where there are surprising rock formations and the endless sea. 

About Cape Split Hike

Length

13 km Loop

Level

Moderate

Trailhead

Cape Split Rd.

Gain

350 m

Time

3 hours

Children

appropriate

Where

Scots Bay, NS

Dogs

on a leash

Where is Cape Split Provincial Park?

Cape Split Provincial Park is located near Scots Bay in the Annapolis Valley in Nova Scotia on the shore of the Bay of Fundy. 

From Halifax – Follow NS-101 W for approximately 80 km to the NS-358 N for 35 km to Scots Bay. This trip is around 1 hour and 45 minutes.

The park is open year-round, but it is unserviced and unstaffed.

Save it for later

Rock pillars of the Cape Split Trail Lookout
les pilliers rocheux de la randonnée du cap Split

Cape Split Trail

The Trailhead

The parking lot for the Cape Split Hike is located at the end of Cape Split Road. It is a large gravel lot with picnic tables and vault toilets. The trailhead is at the far right of the lot on the North side.

vans and cars in the parking at the Cape Split Hike trailhead with Scots Bay in the background

Cape Split Trail Description

The Minas Basin Trail and the Scots Bay Trail can reach Cape Split. The two trails now connect to make a loop giving hikers a third option while hiking in Cape Split Provincial Park. Most of these two trails are wide and well-maintained. You can expect some ups and downs but nothing steep. It is perfect for a walk in the woods or even a trail run.

It is at least 12 kilometres to the viewpoint, depending on your path. Make sure to have enough water and appropriate clothing. A decent pair of hiking shoes is also necessary. Expect to encounter mud, especially if it has rained in the last few days before your hike. I also recommend snacks to enjoy at the viewpoint. Here are some hiking snack ideas.

The large dirt-packed Cape Split trail in the forest.
A hiker walking on a footbridge on the Cape Split Trail in the forest.

Minas Basin Trail

The Minas Basin Trail is 6 kilometres and the most direct path to the Cape Split viewpoint. This trail follows the east ridge of the mesa. It is a well-maintained trail, mostly wide with some narrow parts. It wanders under the forest canopy. There are a few lookoffs along the way. Some are overgrown, and even standing on my toe tips; I could not see above the brush. The unobstructed lookoffs over the Bay of Fundy offer views of the clear blue water and parts of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick in the distance.

The view of the Minas Basin on Cape Split Hike
Minas Basin Lookoff

Scots Bay Trail

Scots Bay Trail is newer and allows hikers to make a loop of 13 kilometres. It follows the western side of the mesa and is 7 kilometres out and back. It can be very muddy, but it is a wide winding trail in the forest. This trail, too, offers beautiful lookoffs on the bay and the coves.

Lobster Hole Lookout on the Cape Split Trail
Lobster Hole Lookoff
Big Cove lookout on the Cape Split Hike
Big Cove Lookoff

Cape Split Lookoff

You will know you are approaching the end as the trees disappear and the path is worn in high grass. Both trails stop at a patch of meadow from where the stunning view of the endless sea and the rock pillars are an astounding sight. The view is incredible, with the sun shining at high or low tide. 

The grassy top of the sea stack in the Bay of Fundy at the end of the Cape Split trail

It is also a popular bird-watching spot as hundreds of seagulls and cormorants perch on the rock pillars and fly around or float on the water below. 

Be mindful of the cliffs as they stand 60 meters high above the sea with strewn boulders at the bottom. The loose rocks and soil can be slippery. Stay away from the edge. The erosion is apparent, and the ground could give way without warning.

Looking out to the Bay of Fundy from the trail
Cape Split Lookout with sea stack and vertical cliffs in the Bay of Fundy

Cape Split Hike is one of the most popular hikes in Nova Scotia, but this province has much to offer in terms of outdoor adventures. The Nova Scotia Parks Website has plenty of information on its parks and activities.

More Hiking like Cape Split in Nova Scotia

Where to stay near Cape Split Provincial Park

More in Nova Scotia

Could you make time to visit beautiful Nova Scotia? Plan the perfect road trip that includes all the musts in Nova Scotia. You will want to include Lunenburg with this guide to the top things to do in Lunenburg.

.

Similar Posts