Road Trip sur la Translabradorienne

La route Translabradorienne, maintenant asphaltée. Elle demeure une route isolée où le service cellulaire se fait rare. Désormais, les touristes peuvent profiter d'une conduite plus douce. Nous avons donc décidé d'en profiter et de traverser le Labrador pour un road trip fascinant en parcourant la route Translabradorienne en entier.

Vous n'avez pas le temps de lire maintenant ? Épinglez-le pour plus tard!

Labrador Road Trip Pin
collage d'images du Labrador

Où se trouve le Labrador ?

Le Labrador se trouve sur la côte est du Canada. Cette région, communément appelée The Big Land, fait partie de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Ses rives suivent le détroit de Belle Isle, la mer du Labrador et l'océan Atlantique.

Pourquoi visiter le Labrador ?

Le Labrador côtier charmera ses visiteurs avec de superbes côtes accidentées, une faune abondante et des petites communautés de pêcheurs. De plus, les terres intérieures regorgent de nature sauvage. Pourtant, les villages dispersées sont riches en histoire et en culture et les habitants sont désireux de partager leur histoire.

Quelle est la longueur de la route Translabradorienne ?

La route translabradorienne est longue de 1100 kilomètres, commençant ou se terminant à chaque extrémité, près de la frontière du Québec près de L'Anse au Clair sur la côte du Labrador ou près de Labrador City dans le nord du Labrador.

La route Translabradorienne se compose de deux autoroutes ; la 500 et la 510. L'autoroute 510 va de L'Anse au Clair à Happy Valley-Goose Bay, où les bornes kilométriques montent pour les 600 prochains kilomètres.

À partir de Happy Valley-Goose Bay, la route translabradorienne continue sur la 500 jusqu'à Labrador City sur 500 kilomètres, les balises descendant. Par conséquent, Happy Valley-Goose Bay est à peu près au milieu du voyage.

Un peu d'histoire

Un choix populaire pour un souvenir est tout bijou fabriqué avec de la labradorite. La pierre se trouve au Labrador et dans certaines parties de Terre-Neuve.

La légende raconte l'histoire des aurores emprisonnées à l'intérieur de la pierre précieuse, lui donnant son aspect coloré et scintillant. Un guerrier courageux a libéré les aurores en poignardant les pierres avec sa lance. Depuis, les aurores sont de retour là où elles devraient être, dans le ciel du nord.

blue and gray Labradorite stone found in Nain, Labrador

Road Trip sur la Translabradorienne

Notre voyage a commencé à Blanc Sablon Québec, à seulement 6 kilomètres de la frontière de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Comme nous venions de terminer notre road trip à Terre-Neuve, en arrivant par traversier à Blanc Sablon, nous avons continué à rouler vers l'est en direction du Labrador

La frontière de The Big Land, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador n'est qu'à quelques minutes en voiture de Blanc Sablon, au kilomètre 0 de la route Translabradorienne. 

The Welcome sign at on the Trans-Labrador Highway.

Fuseaux horaires sur la route translabradorienne 

Vous traverserez deux fuseaux horaires en conduisant sur la route Translabradorienne. Vous serez à l'heure normale de Terre-Neuve de L'Anse au Claire à Black Trickle. Surveillez le panneau sur l'autoroute qui vous indiquera quand il est temps de reculer les aiguilles de votre montre. Le reste du Labrador est à l'heure normale de l'Atlantique.

Road trip au Labrador

Chaque arrêt sur la route Translabradorienne a ses charmes. Vous trouverez les attractions pour chaque communauté dans la prochaine section de cet article. Donc, que vous souhaitiez visiter, faire de la randonnée ou faire du shopping, vous pouvez utiliser ce guide pour planifier votre aventure épique du Labrador. 

a lake and sparse trees by the Trans-Labrador Highway during a Labrador road trip

L’Anse au Clair 

La première communauté que l'on traverse sur la route Translabradorienne est L'Anse au Clair. 

Visitez le centre d'accueil Gateway to Labrador ; une ancienne église restaurée transformée en centre d'interprétation. Découvrez l'histoire du Labrador qui remonte à 9000 ans. 

Parcourez une partie du Labrador Pioneer Footpath, un ancien système de sentiers utilisé par les premiers colons pour se déplacer de village en village. Le sentier comprend plusieurs trajets, chaque section allant de 6 kilomètres à 15 kilomètres, principalement des randonnées faciles à modérées. De plus, surveillez les baleines et les icebergs sur les sentiers. Le Labrador Pioneer Footpath traverse quelques communautés le long de la côte.

Faites du shopping à The Northern Light Inn Gift Shop. 

L’Anse-Amour

Visitez le lieu historique national du Canada de Maratime Archaic Burial Mound, où un enfant a été enterré il y a plus de 7 500 ans. C'est le plus ancien site funéraire connu du Nouveau Monde. Certains artefacts découverts sur ce site sont exposés au Labrador Straits Museum à L'Anse au Loup. 

Le lieu historique provincial du Phare de Pointe Amour est la principale attraction de L'Anse-Amour. Le phare a été construit au milieu des années 1800. Vous pouvez monter les 132 marches jusqu'au sommet du phare pour une vue panoramique. 

Marchez le long du sentier côtier à Point Amour tout en gardant un œil sur les baleines, les icebergs et les épaves. Le sentier Raleigh est une randonnée facile de 2 kilomètres qui vous mènera au site de deux épaves de navires de guerre britanniques. 

Red Bay

Visitez le lieu historique national de Red Bay d'une ancienne station baleinière basque qui produisait de l'huile pour lampes.

Le centre d'interprétation de Saddle Island retrace l'histoire des chasseurs de baleines et de la production d'huile de baleine des 5 derniers siècles.

Le musée de Right Whale a de tout sur les baleines et leur protection. 

Remontez le sentier Tracy Hill. Vous monterez les 689 marches jusqu'au sommet de la colline, où des vues incroyables sur la baie et la ville attendent les randonneurs.

Magasinez chez Whalers Gifts and Designs. Le magasin propose une variété de souvenirs et d'artisanat faits à la main par le propriétaire.

Envie d'un tour de bateau ? Consultez soit Gull Island Charters ou Whaler’s Quest Ocean Adventures.

the Trans-Labrador Highway with a view on Red Bay during a Labrador road trip

#vanlife Nous nous sommes arrêtés pour la nuit à Red Bay dans le stationnement de Tracy Hill Stairs. C'est un stationnement plat avec suffisamment d'espace pour quelques véhicules. Nous avions une vue magnifique sur la baie et la ville.

Mary’s Harbour

Mary's Harbour est une petite communauté avec des chemins de terre pleins de nids-de-poule pour s'assurer que personne ne dépasse la limite de vitesse de 30 km/h. Cependant, c'est une ville charmante avec des habitants sympathiques qui vous accueilleront chaleureusement.

Le sentier Gin Cove Walking est une randonnée facile de 20 minutes avec une vieille promenade de bois et des escaliers menant à l'océan. Le sentier White Water Falls est une randonnée facile de 2,5 kilomètres qui amène les randonneurs aux chutes.

Magasinez au Great Caribou Studio. Le magasin est un excellent endroit pour s'arrêter pour un bon café et des pâtisseries. De plus, ils ont des objets d'artisanat confectionnés par les artistes locaux à vendre.

Battle Harbour

À Mary's Harbour, vous pouvez prendre un ferry pour Battle Harbour. Cette petite île au large du Labrador, où le temps s'est arrêté, charme les visiteurs depuis des années. Alors ne manquez pas votre chance de faire un voyage dans le temps à Battle Harbour et découvrez la vie telle qu'elle était lorsque les premiers colons sont arrivés sur l'île.

Battle Harbour community on the small island

Changer de fuseau horaire

Le fuseau horaire change quelque part entre Port Hope Simpson et Happy Valley-Goose Bay. Attention au panneau routier qui vous indiquera de reculer l'heure de votre montre d'une demi-heure. Cependant, si vous comptez sur votre téléphone, vous devrez attendre jusqu'à Happy Valley-Goose Bay, car il n'y a pas de réception cellulaire jusque-là.

driving on a metal bridge on the Trans-Labrador Highway

Happy Valley-Goose Bay – Le coeur du Labrador

Happy Valley-Goose Bay est le cœur du Labrador. C'est environ à mi-chemin de notre road trip à travers le Labrador. En complétant la route Translabradorienne de L'Anse au Clair à Labrador City, c'est un peu plus de la moitié du chemin.

À faire à Happy Valley-Goose Bay

Visitez le Labrador Military Museum. Les expositions remontent à la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour raconter l'histoire de la 5e Escadre Goose Bay et l'histoire militaire du Labrador.

La géocachette est une activité populaire à Happy Valley-Goose Bay.

La zone de conservation de l'île Birch est un endroit parfait pour une courte randonnée. C'est un beau petit parc avec des sentiers de promenade en bois à travers des zones boisées et des tourbières. De plus, des tables de pique-nique sont sur place. 

Boardwalk by the water in Birch Island Conservation Area in Labrador
Sandy beach on the Churchill River in Labrador

Le sentier Peace Rock est une randonnée facile d'un kilomètre mais pleine de belles vues.  

Faites du shopping au Northern Lights Building, où ils ont un peu de tout et de rien.  

#vanlife Il y a un terrain de camping abandonné pour passer la nuit. Le lac Gosling a une rampe de mise à l'eau et une petite plage. Certains campings sont envahis par la végétation, mais certains sont encore utilisables. De plus, il y a deux grands stationnements avec beaucoup d'espace pour les grandes camionnettes ou les VRs. 

North West River

Un road trip au Labrador n'est pas complet sans un arrêt à North West River. C'est la plus ancienne communauté du Labrador, fondée en 1743 par le commerçant de fourrures Louis Fornel. Elle borde le lac Melville et le lac Grand (ou rivière Churchill). Sur la rive opposée se trouve la communauté des Premières Nations, Sheshatshiu.

À faire à North West River

Visitez le musée du Labrador Heritage Society, dans le bâtiment d'origine de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson pour le commerce des fourrures à l'époque. Ils possèdent une impressionnante collection d'artefacts, d'images et de documents des deux cents dernières années, principalement donnés par les habitants de la communauté.

J'ai été très impressionnée par les quelques dizaines de modèles et de maquettes réalisés par un local. Ils racontent l'histoire de la communauté et de ses habitants, des Premières Nations, des colons et leur mode de vie.

A model of the Hudson's Bay Company fur trade post in North West River, Labrador

Visitez le North West River Interpretation Centre. Les expositions de ce centre dépeignent la vie des Premières Nations Innu et Innuit et des colons de la région. Découvrez l'histoire de la région avant qu'elle ne devienne North West River et depuis. En particulier les épreuves endurées par les gens pendant l'été et pour survivre aux longs hivers. Les présentations visuelles et audio en font une expérience amusante.

Il y a aussi un auditorium avec une liste de vidéos et de films parmi lesquels vous pouvez choisir. Nous avons choisi le film Torngat Mountains, Northwords. C'était une histoire inspirante, comprenant les paysages fantastiques du nord du Labrador. 

The North West River Interpretation Center with the Canadian and the Newfoundland and Labrador flags floating in the wind

Parcourez le sentier Lookout depuis le centre d'interprétation. Le début du sentier se trouve à l'extrémité droite du stationnement. 

Arrêtez-vous au Sunday Hill Lookout pour une vue magnifique sur la ville en contrebas et l'immensité du lac Melville avec les montagnes Mealy au loin. Non seulement le site a des foyer pour feu de camp et une table de pique-nique, mais aussi des toilettes sèches. 

View of Melville Lake from the Sunday Hill Lookout in North West River, Labrador

Churchill Falls

Churchill Falls est une ville appartenant à une entreprise. Lorsque vous conduisez à travers la ville, c'est très particulier; vous verrez des rangées sur des rangées de maisons carrées identiques de la même couleur. La seule différence est les voitures garées devant. Cela ressemble au film Vivarium, où toutes les maisons sont identiques. Cependant, les autres bâtiments de la ville sont modernes et colorés, contrastant avec le blanc cassé et le beige pâle des maisons.

À faire à Churchill Falls

La centrale électrique de Churchill Falls est un important centre hydroélectrique. Des visites et des tours guidés sont possibles, mais les réservations sont obligatoires.

Randonné à Churchill Falls

Parcourez le sentier naturel de Bowdoin Canyon. C'est une randonnée facile jusqu'au point de vue des chutes Churchill. Le chemin est large et peu accidenté. De plus, il y a des escaliers en bois. Par contre plusieurs marches sont mal en point et la plupart des randonneurs semblent renoncer aux escaliers et emprunter le sentier à côté puisque la pente est très douce. L'élévation est minime, mais il y a quelques montées et descentes.

Pendant que vous marchez le long du sentier, il y a quelques points de vue où vous pourrez admirer le canyon et la rivière en bas. Cependant, le belvédère au bout du sentier offre une vue directe sur les chutes avec le pont métallique loin derrière elles.

Sur le chemin du retour, surveillez l'un des premiers belvédères du canyon. Là, vous trouverez une corde qui descend la pente jusqu'en bas. Si vous avez une âme d'aventurier, vous pouvez vous aventurer au fond du canyon et marcher sur les rochers de chaque côté de la rivière qui tombe en cascade dans le canyon. C'est un paysage magnifique qui vaut bien l'effort nécessaire pour remonter la pente à l'aide de la corde. 

Bowdoin Canyon with the water streaming down the rocks in Churchill Falls, Labrador
Churchill Falls from the lookout on the trail

Le pont métallique est un pont à une voie. L'étroit passage qui traverse le canyon et la rivière offre de belles vues. Cependant, ne vous arrêtez pas sur le pont car il n'est assez étroit que pour un seul véhicule.

The bridge over the Bowdoin Canyon on the Trans-Labrador Highway

#vanlife We Nous avons passé la nuit dans l'aire de repos du côté ouest du pont. C'était une nuit tranquille. Le stationnement est grand et plat. 

Labrador City

La dernière étape de notre road trip au Labrador et la dernière ville en direction de l'ouest sur la route Translabradorienne est Labrador City. C'est la plus grande ville du Labrador et elle est connue pour son industrie minière.

Visitez le Gateway Labrador Information Centre pour ses intéressantes expositions sur l'histoire de la ville et du Labrador. 

a few exhibits in the Gateway Labrador Information Centre in Labrador City

#vanlife Nous avons passé la nuit sur une péninsule sablonneuse au bord du lac Wabush. C'est un peu bruyant avec le trafic de l'autoroute à proximité et le train qui passe de temps en temps. Par contre, la vue sur l'eau et les collines derrière est magnifique. 

Van parked by Wabush Lake on the sandy beach with the hills in the background in Labrador City.

La fin du road trip au Labrador

À vingt kilomètres de Labrador City se trouve la frontière du Québec, là où ce road trip au Labrador se termine, mais d'autres aventures attendent à Fermont, Québec, sur la route 389 vers Baie-Comeau. Après 1100 kilomètres, quelques communautés et petites villes et d'innombrables kilomètres dans les prairies et les forêts, notre road trip sur la route Translabradorienne est terminé.

.

Articles similaires

Driving the Entire Trans-Labrador Highway

The Trans-Labrador Highway is now fully paved. It is a remote road with rare cellular service. Now tourists can enjoy a smoother ride along the way. With this in mind, we decided to take advantage of this and travel through Labrador. Therefore, we made our way from town to town for this bewildering Labrador road trip driving the Trans-Labrador Highway in its entirety.

Don’t have time to read? Pin it for later.

Labrador Road Trip Pin
collage d'images du Labrador

Where is Labrador

Labrador is on the east coast of Canada. This region, commonly known as The Big Land, is part of Newfoundland and Labrador. Its shores follow the Strait of Belle Isle, the Labrador sea and the Atlantic Ocean.

Why Visit Labrador

Coastal Labrador will charm its visitors with stunning rugged coastlines, abundant wildlife and fishermen communities. Furthermore, the interior lands are full of untamed nature. Still, the scattered towns are rich in history and culture and eager to share their story.

How long is the Trans-Labrador Highway?

The Trans-Labrador Highway is 1100 kilometres long, starting or ending at either end, near the Labrador-Québec border near L’Anse au Clair in Coastal Labrador or near Labrador City in northern Labrador.

The Trans-Labrador Highway consists of two highways; the 500 and the 510. Highway 510 goes from L’Anse au Clair to Happy Valley-Goose Bay, where kilometre markers go up for the next 600 kilometres.

From Happy Valley-Goose Bay, the Trans-Labrador Highway continues on the 500 to Labrador City for 500 kilometres, with the markers going down. Hence, Happy Valley-Goose Bay is roughly the middle of the trip.

A bit of History

A popular choice for a souvenir is any jewellery made with labradorite. The stone is found in Labrador and some parts of Newfoundland.

The legend tells the story of the auroras trapped inside the gemstone, giving it its colourful, glittering look. Then, a courageous warrior freed the auroras by stabbing the stones with his spear. Finally, the auroras are back where they should be, in the northern skies.

blue and gray Labradorite stone found in Nain, Labrador

Driving the Trans-Labrador Highway

Our trip started in Blanc Sablon Québec, just 6 kilometres outside the border of Newfoundland and Labrador. Since we had just finished our road trip across Newfoundland, getting off the ferry in Blanc Sablon, we kept driving east towards Labrador.

It is only a few minutes’ drive across the border from Blanc Sablon into Labrador, the Big Land, at kilometre 0 of the Trans-Labrador Highway. 

The Welcome sign at on the Trans-Labrador Highway.

Time zones on the Trans-Labrador Highway 

You will go through two time zones as you drive the Trans-Labrador Highway. You will be on Newfoundland Standard Time from L’Anse au Claire to Black Trickle. Watch for the sign on the highway that will let you know when it is time to set your watch back. The rest of Labrador is on Atlantic Standard Time.

Road Trip Through Labrador

Each stop on the Trans-Labrador Highway has its charms. You will find the attractions for each town in the next section of this article. So whether you want to visit, hike or shop, you can use this to plan your epic adventure in the Big Land. 

a lake and sparse trees by the Trans-Labrador Highway during a Labrador road trip

L’Anse au Clair 

The first town you will come through as you cross the border into Labrador is L’Anse au Clair. 

Visit the Gateway to Labrador Visitor Center. An old restored church turned into an interpretive center. Discover the history of Labrador going back 9000 years. 

Hike part of the Labrador Pioneer Footpath, an old system of trails used by the first settlers to get around from town to town. The footpath comprises several paths, each section ranging from 6 kilometres to 15 kilometres, mainly easy to moderate hiking. In addition, keep an eye out for whales and icebergs on the trails. The footpath goes through a few communities along the coast.

Shop at The Northern Light Inn Gift Shop. 

L’Anse-Amour

Visit the Maritime Archaic Burial Mound National Historic Site of Canada, where a child was buried over 7500 years ago. It is the oldest known burial site in the New World. Some artifacts uncovered on this site are displayed in the Labrador Straits Museum at L’Anse au Loup. 

The Point Amour Lighthouse Provincial Historic Site is the main attraction at L’Anse-Amour. It was built in the mid-1800s. You can climb the 132 stairs to the top of the lighthouse for panoramic views. 

Hike along the coastal trail at Point Amour while keeping an eye out for whales, icebergs and shipwrecks. The Raleigh Trail is an easy 2-kilometre hike that will take you to the wreck site of two British warships. 

Red Bay

Visit Parks Canada’s Red Bay National Historic Site on an old Basque whaling station that produced oil for lamps.

The Saddle Island Interpretive Center depicts the history of the last 500 hundred years of whale hunters and whale oil production.

The Right Whale Exhibit Museum has everything and anything about whales and their protection. 

Hike up Tracy Hill Trail. You will climb the 689 steps to the top of the hill, where incredible views of the bay and the town await hikers.

Shop at Whalers Gifts and Designs. The store has a variety of souvenirs and crafts handmade by the owner.

In the mood for a tour? Consult either Gull Island Charters or Whaler’s Quest Ocean Adventures.

the Trans-Labrador Highway with a view on Red Bay during a Labrador road trip

#vanlife We stopped for the night in Red Bay in the Tracy Hill Stairs parking lot. It is a nice parking lot with enough flat space for a few vehicles and plenty of room to turn around. We had a wonderful view of the bay and the town.

Mary’s Harbour

Mary’s Harbour is a small community with dirt roads full of potholes to ensure no one exceeds the speed limit of 30 km/h. However, it is a charming town with sympathetic residents that will heartily welcome you.

Hike Gin Cove Walking Trail an easy 20-minute hike with an old boardwalk and wooden stairs leading to the ocean. The White Water Falls Trail is an easy 2.5-kilometre hike that brings hikers to waterfalls.

Shop at The Great Caribou Studio. The store is an excellent place to stop for good coffee and pastries. In addition, they have arts and crafts from local artists on display and for sale.

Battle Harbour

In Mary’s Harbour, you can catch a ferry to Battle Harbour. This tiny island off the coast of Labrador, where time stood still, has charmed visitors for years. So don’t miss your chance to step back in time with a visit to Battle Harbour and experience life as it was when settlers first came to the island.

Battle Harbour community on the small island

Time Change

The time zone changes somewhere between Port Hope Simpson and Happy Valley-Goose Bay. Watch out for the road sign that will let you know to set your watch back by half an hour. However, if you rely on your phone, you will have to wait until Happy Valley-Goose Bay, as there is no cellular reception until then.

driving on a metal bridge on the Trans-Labrador Highway

Happy Valley-Goose Bay – The Heart of Labrador

Happy Valley-Goose Bay is the Heart of Labrador. This is roughly mid-way into our road trip across Labrador. Driving the Trans-Labrador Highway from L’Anse au Clair to Labrador City, this is a little more than halfway through.

To do in Happy Valley-Goose Bay

Visit the Labrador Military Museum. The exhibits go back to WWII to tell the story of 5 Wing Goose Bay and the military history of Labrador.

Geocaching is a popular activity in Happy Valley-Goose Bay.

Hike in the Birch Island Conservation Area. It is a beautiful small park with boardwalk trails through wooded and bog areas. Also, picnic tables are on the premises. 

Boardwalk by the water in Birch Island Conservation Area in Labrador
Sandy beach on the Churchill River in Labrador

Hike Peace Rock and Scenic Waterfalls. The easy 1-kilometre hike is short but full of beautiful sights.  

Shop at the Northern Lights Building, where they have a bit of everything and anything.  

#vanlife There is an abandoned campground with room for the night. Gosling lake has a boat launch and a small beach. Some campsites are overgrown, but some are still usable. In addition, there are two overflow parking lots with plenty of space for large vans or big rigs. 

North West River

A road trip to Labrador is not complete without a stop at North West River. It is the oldest Labrador community, founded in 1743 by fur trader Louis Fornel. It borders Melville Lake and Grand Lake (or Churchill River). On the opposite shore is the First-Nation Community, Sheshatshiu.

To do in North West

Visit the Labrador Heritage Society Museum, which is the original building by the Hudson’s Bay Company for fur trading back in the day. They have an impressive collection of artifacts, pictures and documents from the last two hundred years, mostly donated by the town’s folks.

I was highly impressed by the few dozen models and sketches a local did. They tell the story of the town and its people, the natives, the settlers and their way of life.

A model of the Hudson's Bay Company fur trade post in North West River, Labrador

Visit the North West River Interpretation Centre. The exhibits in this center depict the lives of native Innu and Innuit and the settlers in the area. Learn about the area’s history dating back to before it became North West River and since. Particularly the hardships endured by the people during the summer and to survive the long winters. Visual and audio presentations turn it into a storytelling experience.

There is also an auditorium with a list of videos and movies from which you can choose. We decided on the film Torngat Mountains, Northwords. It was an inspirational story, including the fantastic scenery of Northern Labrador. 

The North West River Interpretation Center with the Canadian and the Newfoundland and Labrador flags floating in the wind

Hike the Lookout Trails from the North West River Interpretation Center. The trailhead is at the right end of the parking lot. 

Stop by the Sunday Hill Lookout for a beautiful view of the town below and the immensity of Melville Lake with the Mealy Mountains in the distance. Not only does the area has campfire rings and a picnic table but also a pit toilet. Because it is higher in altitude, expect wind, although it does keep the bugs away. 

View of Melville Lake from the Sunday Hill Lookout in North West River, Labrador

Churchill Falls

Churchill Falls is a company-owned town. As you drive through the city, it is very peculiar; you will see rows upon rows of identical square houses of the same light colour. The only difference is the cars parked in the driveways. It almost looks like something out of the movie Vivarium, where all the houses are identical. However, the other buildings in town are pretty modern looking and colourful contrasting with the off-white and pale beige of the houses.

To do in Churchill Falls

The Churchill Falls Generating Station is a significant hydroelectric power centre. Visits and tours are available, but reservations are required.

Hiking in Churchill Falls

Hike the Bowdoin Canyon Nature Trail. It is an easy hike to the viewpoint of Churchill Falls. The path is wide and barely rugged. In addition, there are makeshift wooden stairs, but many of the steps are rotten, so be careful. Most hikers seem to forgo the stairs and walk down the path beside the stairs as it is not that steep. The elevation is minimal, but there are a few ups and downs.

As you hike along the trail, there are a couple of viewpoints where you can admire the canyon and the water down below. However, the lookout at the trail’s end offers a direct view of the falls with the metal bridge far behind them.

On your way back, keep an eye out for one of the first lookouts in the canyon. There, you will find a rope that leads down the slope to the bottom. If you have an adventurous soul, you can venture to the bottom of the canyon and walk on the rocks on either side of the river cascading down the canyon. Admittedly, it is an amazing landscape and well worth the effort required to hike back up the slope with the aid of the rope. 

Bowdoin Canyon with the water streaming down the rocks in Churchill Falls, Labrador
Churchill Falls from the lookout on the trail

The metal bridge is a one-lane bridge, one vehicle at a time. The narrow metal bridge that crosses the canyon and river offers beautiful views. However, don’t stop on the bridge as it is only narrow enough for one vehicle.

The bridge over the Bowdoin Canyon on the Trans-Labrador Highway

#vanlife We spent the night in the rest area on the west side of the bridge. It was a quiet night. The parking lot is large and level. 

Labrador City

Labrador City is the last stop on our Labrador road trip and the last city driving west on the Trans-Labrador Highway. This is the largest city in Labrador and is known for its mining industry.

Visit the Gateway Labrador Information Center for its interesting exhibits on the history of the city and Labrador. 

a few exhibits in the Gateway Labrador Information Centre in Labrador City

#vanlife We spent the night on a sandy peninsula by the water on Wabush Lake. It is a bit noisy with the traffic from the highway close by and the train that comes through every once in a while. On the other hand, the view of the water and the hills behind is beautiful. 

Van parked by Wabush Lake on the sandy beach with the hills in the background in Labrador City.

The End of the Road Trip in Labrador

Twenty kilometres from Labrador City is Quebec’s border, where this road trip in Labrador ends, but other adventures begin in Fermont, Quebec, on route 389 to Baie-Comeau. After 1100 kilometres, a few towns, small cities, and countless miles of meadows and forests, our Trans-Labrador Highway road trip is complete.

.

Similar Posts

10 Comments

  1. What an amazing trip, your posts really inspire me to want to visit Canada. Coming from the UK, the scale of the road trips and the sweeping landscapes are something else! Intrigued by the van life tips too- we’ve just picked up a Ford Transit van to convert to a camper. Self build, so fingers crossed we can pull it off but… van life here we come!

    1. Oh!!! Vanlife is an amazing adventure! My partner and I build ours last spring, and we absolutely love it. It is a Sprinter. Don’t hesitate to reach out if you need input on anything van conversion.

  2. I’ve made this trip twice, plus the northern Ranger freighter, to Naim, twice. Excellent adventure, you have to be self reliant!!!

      1. What a great trip.
        We did this trip with 5 kids, 5 spare tires (we used 3) before the road was paved, from Baie Comeau in Quebec to the Blanc Sablon ferry, in a Dodge caravan pulling a popup tent trailer. It was absolutely spectacular.
        Camping spots were easy to find, local people very helpful, and getting the free emergency Satellite phone, comforting. At the time we needed to take the ferry through lake Melville from Happy Valley/Goose Bay to Cartwright.
        Being a mostly gravel road, it was quite an adventure.
        We live hearing your stories and are looking forward doing this trip again, a little more slowly, and enjoying the beauty of the north.

      2. I am so happy you enjoyed it. Your adventure was quite different than mine on the gravel road with the whole family! It is still a remote area but the paved highway makes it a bit more comforting 😉 I am also looking forward to seeing it again some day!

  3. Hi,

    I am planning to do this trip from Happy Valley-Goose Bay to Montreal, in my Subaru Crosstrek. Do you think it’s a good enough car to make this trip without any damage?

    Thanks
    Arnav

    1. We did carry fuel just in case; although we did not use it, I still recommend it. We fuelled up every chance we got, and it was enough, but this will depend on what you are driving. The longest stretch without any gas station was about 400 km (250 miles) between Port Hope Simpson and Happy Valley-Goose Bay. The other stretches were 200-300 km (150-200 miles) Labrador City – Churchill Falls – Happy Valley-Goose Bay.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *