Randonnées légendaires dans le parc national Zion

L'état du Utah offre de multiples options pour les aventuriers et les assoiffés de nature. Le Utah compte plus de 40 parcs d'état et 5 parcs nationaux, ainsi que de nombreux sites historiques et monuments nationaux. Pour ma visite de quelques jours, je devais faire un choix d'itinéraire puisqu'il m'était impossible de visiter tous les parcs et les attractions offerts dans cette région. Deux parcs nationaux ont particulièrement attiré mon attention. Ma compagne pour cette aventure était bien d'accord avec moi, nous avons fait des plans et nous avons prévu d'explorer les sentiers de randonnée du parc national de Zion.

Un peu sur le parc national Zion

Le parc national Zion est l'un des plus reconnus aux États-Unis grâce à deux randonnées très populaires. Angels Landing et The Narrows attirent à elles seules des milliers de touristes chaque année. Ce sont naturellement des incontournables à Zion.

Le parc national de Zion se trouve dans l'État du Utah, dans le sud-ouest des États-Unis. Il est assez au sud pour avoir des hivers doux mais voit suffisamment de neige pour avoir des paysages changeants au fil des saisons.

Hébergement près du parc national Zion

Le parc propose trois terrains de camping. The Watchmen est ouvert toute l'année et nécessite des réservations. Le camping South est ouvert de mars à octobre et les réservations sont possibles 14 jours à l'avance. Le terrain de camping de Lava Point ouvre également au printemps avec 6 sites disponibles selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. 

La charmante ville de Springdale à l'entrée du parc est parfaite pour l'hébergement lors de la visite du parc. Il y a de nombreux hôtels, motels et B&B, mais je recommande fortement le Bumbleberry Inn.

bumbleberry motel in Springdale close to the Zion National Park entrance

Son emplacement est idéal car il est tout près du parc avec l'arrêt de la navette du parc juste en face. De plus, une épicerie et de quelques restaurants sont à proximité. La plupart des chambres ont une vue splendide! La ville est entourée par les montagnes de Zion et le paysage est magnifique partout où vous regardez. 

J'ai été attristé d'apprendre que le Porter's Smokehouse and Grill avait brûlé en 2020, car il aurait fait ma liste des meilleurs restaurants dans lesquels j'ai mangé à Springdale. Cependant, je suis heureuse d'annoncer qu'on a commencé la reconstruction, et au moment où vous lirez cet article, il devrait être à nouveau ouvert. 

Explorer le parc national Zion

Une navette circule le long du parcours pour transporter les touristes d'un point à un autre. De mars à octobre, c'est le seul moyen de se déplacer dans le parc ; aucune voiture n'est autorisée. Le service de navette est inclus et illimité avec le droit d'entrée au parc.

Prévoyez une journée pour explorer le parc d'un arrêt à l'autre. Chaque arrêt vaut la peine, mais mes préférés sont Emerald Pool, Weeping Rock et Grotto. Chacun avec un court sentier facile.

La Riverside Walk est également un excellent moyen de profiter des magnifiques vues du parc.

the River Trail following the river with cliffs on each side in Zion National Park
River Walk au parc national Zion

Le tunnel Zion-Mount Carmel

Le parc abrite également le tunnel Zion-Mount Carmel, qui s'étend sur plus d'un mile de long (1,6 kilomètres). La construction du tunnel a été achevée en 1930. C'est le seul itinéraire disponible qui rejoint les parcs de Zion, Bryce et du Grand Canyon.

Si vous souhaitez traverser le tunnel, sachez qu'il existe des restrictions pour les gros véhicules. Les véhicules récréatifs de plus de 11 pieds de hauteur et de 7 pieds de largeur auront besoin d'un permis et d'une escorte de véhicule pour traverser le tunnel.

Les sentiers de randonnée au parc national Zion

The Narrows (bottom-up)

  • distance : jusqu'à 15 km
  • temps approximatif : jusqu'à 8 heures
  • situé dans le canyon Zion, à l'arrêt 9 Temple of Sinawawa

Dès notre arrivée, nous nous sommes renseignés, et c'est avec regret que nous avons appris que The Narrows serait fermé aux randonneurs pendant quelques semaines. Cette randonnée étant à l'intérieur d'un canyon étroit (d'où son nom), le risque de crues soudaines est exceptionnellement élevé au printemps. 

Le parc fermera le sentier pour la sécurité des randonneurs lorsque le risque d'inondation est élevé. Renseignez-vous auprès du centre d'accueil du parc à votre arrivée pour plus d'informations. Le Narrows sera généralement fermé de la mi-mars à la fin mai. Cependant, les fermetures pourraient durer plus longtemps s'il s'agissait d'un hiver particulièrement enneigé. 

Vous pataugerez dans l'eau tout au long de The Narrows. Le niveau d'eau peut être peu profond ou assez profond pour nager, selon la période de l'année. L'eau peut être rafraîchissante par une chaude journée d'été. 

Si vous prévoyez de faire de la randonnée dans The Narrows en hiver ou au début du printemps, il est recommandé de porter des vêtements en néoprène. Zion Outfitter loue divers équipements pour cette randonnée, tels que des bas et des bottes en néoprène, des pantalons étanches et des sacs étanches. 

Le Narrows peut également être parcouru de haut en bas (top-down) pour une randonnée de plusieurs jours sur 26 km (16 miles). Vous aurez besoin d'un permis pour cet itinéraire. Voir Longue randonnée dans le parc national Zion pour plus de renseignements.

Angels Landing

  • distance 9 km
  • dénivelé : 480 mètre
  • altitude : 1765 m
  • temps approximatif : 4 heures
  • permis requis (sous forme de lotterie)
  • situé dans le canyon Zion, arrêt 6 (the Grotto), de l'autre côté de la rue au-delà de la passerelle
Angles Landing Hike from Scout Lookout

Le lendemain, nous nous sommes attaqués à la principale raison de notre visite à Zion : Angels Landing. Ce chemin mène à un point si haut que seuls les anges peuvent y atterrir. Cette randonnée est la randonnée la plus populaire du parc et la plus fréquentée également. En raison de sa popularité, il est désormais obligatoire de demander un permis d'accès aux sentiers. Les permis sont attribués par tirage au sort; croise les doigts et espère être choisi !

Le sentier est considéré comme difficile et dangereux car il est exposé et parfois très étroit, avec des falaises de chaque côté. Par conséquent, soyez vigilants et patients sur le sentier très fréquenté.

Scout Lookout

Nous sommes au début du sentier tôt le matin afin d'éviter la foule. Le début du sentier est très bien aménagé et nous avons plutôt l'impression de marcher sur un trottoir que d'escalader une montagne. Vient ensuite la fameuse section Walter's Wiggles, une série de lacets interminables et où quelques pauses sont nécessaires afin de reprendre notre souffle.

Nous arrivons à Scout Lookout quelque peu avant la marque du trois kilomètres. Les vues sont impressionnantes. Ce belvédère représente le point de décision; ici, les randonneurs décident de poursuivre pour la partie étroite et exposée du sentier ou de rebrousser chemin. Le sommet se situe à moins d'un kilomètre de distance tout près de 150 mètres plus haut.

Angels Landing

En revanche, c'est ici que commence la véritable aventure ; les chaînes et les vues vertigineuses du haut des falaises. Bien que je sens la peur me gagner et que j'hésite à poursuivre lors des premières chaînes suite à Scout Lookout, je refuse d'avoir fait tout ce chemin pour abandonner et faire demi-tour maintenant. Je prends une profonde inspiration et je me remets à grimper.

Hiking Angles Landing in Zion National Park with the help of the chains

Sans m'en rendre compte, la peur s'apaise et disparaît complètement avant le retour. Mais je dois avouer que les chaînes sont restées mes meilleures amies pour la durée de la montée!

Une fois au sommet, la vue à 360 degrés sur les canyons et les falaises environnantes est impressionnante.

Au moment où nous décidons de reprendre le chemin du retour, la foule est arrivée et les attentes sont longues afin de passer les parties étroites du sentier ou de naviguer les chaînes entre les randonneurs. Je suis bien contente de notre départ matinal qui nous a permis d'éviter ses attentes lors de la montée.

Le Subway (le sentier Left Fork of North Creek - bottom-up)

  • distance : 15 km
  • dénivelée : 398 m
  • temps approximatif : 6 heures
  • permis requis 
  • situé dans le canyon Kolob

Un peu sur le sentier

hiking down Kolob Canyon in Zion National Park

La deuxième randonnée dans le parc nous emmène au fond de Kolob Canyon, The Subway via le sentier Left Fork of North Creek. Le sentier longe le ruisseau Left Fork au fond du canyon, traversant chutes et cascades flanquées de parois rocheuses qui s'élèvent à 365 mètres au-dessus de nos têtes.

Le début du sentier Left Fork se trouve sur le chemin Kolob Terrace, dans la région du canyon Kolob.

Permis d'arrière-pays

Vous devrez vous procurer un permis pour cette randonnée. Les demandes de permis en ligne sous forme de lotterie can be made two months before the day of the trek, from April through October. You can also make a calendar reservation one month before your hike or from November through March. Lastly, you also have the option to use the last-minute drawing the week before (up to 2 days prior) for your hike.

Nous avons obtenu notre permis le jour de la randonnée au Zion Canyon Visitor Center Wilderness Desk. Notez qu'ils limitent le nombre de permis attribués chaque jour, vous pouvez donc planifier à l'avance ou être au comptoir dès son ouverture, en espérant qu'il y aura encore des permis disponibles.

Location d'équipement

Puisque la randonnée consiste à plusieurs traversées du cours d'eau et par moment, le sentier est le cours d'eau, nous avons pris la sage décision de faire la location de bas et bottes en néoprène à Zion Outfitter. Le printemps amène également des niveaux d'eau plus élevés et nous n'avons pas regretté notre choix. Bien que cet équipement n'est pas obligatoire, il est certainement utile contre le froid de l'eau et plus sécuritaire puisque le fond du cours d'eau est parfois très glissant.

fording Left Fork Creek
Left Fork Creek is the trail
Wearing neoprene socks and shoes for the trail

Le sentier Left Fork

Les premières minutes sur le sentier se font à travers une section boisée, puis vient le temps de descendre au fond du canyon. La pente est abrupte mais bien indiquée. Une fois en bas, la route tourne à gauche et longe le Left Fork Creek sur quatre kilomètres. Il suffit de suivre le cours d'eau ou de marcher dans le cours d'eau en remontant les cascades qui offrent de beaux spectacles.

Le Subway

Au bout de ces quatre kilomètres, nous arrivons au fameux Subway. Les murs se rapprochent et s'arrondissent pour former un genre de tunnel dans lequel on doit s'engager.

hiker walking in the Subway with a rockwall forming a tunnel and water flowing at the bottom
the end of the Subway Trail where the canyon gets narrow

Le retour se fait par le même itinéraire, en suivant ou en marchant dans le ruisseau Fork Left jusqu'au sentier qui monte et sort du canyon.

Les randonneurs peuvent également faire cette randonnée de haut en bas (top-down) depuis le début du sentier Wildcat Canyon. Il s'agit d'une randonnée de 15 km (9,5 miles) qui se termine au début du sentier Left Fork. Cet itinéraire comprend du canyoning et nécessite du matériel tel que des cordes et des harnais. Un permis d'arrière-pays est également obligatoire.

Le sentier Canyon Overlook

  • distance : 1.6 km
  • dénivelé : 50 m
  • temps approximatif : 1 heure
  • situé dans le canyon Zion, à l'est du tunnel Zion-Mount Carmel

Une dernière randonnée dans le parc national Zion nous amène plus loin à travers le célèbre tunnel du mont Carmel. Le sentier Canyon Overlook est une courte randonnée qui mène à un belvédère sur le canyon Zion. Les vues sont naturellement splendides et en valent totalement la peine. C'est un sentier très fréquenté que les familles avec de jeunes enfants peuvent apprécier.

Zion Canyon form the Canyon Overlook Trail

Autres randonnées dans le parc national Zion

sentiers faciles :

  • sentier Pa'rus - 5 km sur une route en pavée le long de la rivière Virgin à partir du centre des visiteurs
  • Lower Emerald Pool – 2 km de l'arrêt #5
  • sentier Grotto - 2 km de l'arrêt #5 ou #6 (le sentier suit la route d'un arrêt à l'autre.)
  • Riverside Walk – 3.5 km sur une route pavée de l'arrêt #9 longeant la rivière Virgin
  • sentier Timber Creek Overlook - 2 km du Kolob Canyon Viewpoint longeant la crête du canyon Kolob

sentiers modérés :

  • sentier Kayenta - 5 km jusqu'au bassin supérieur Emerald à partir de l'arrêt #6
  • sentier Watchman - 5 km à partir du centre des visiteurs
  • sentier Northgate Peaks - 7 km au départ du sentier Wildcat Canyon sur la route Kolob Terrace jusqu'au point de vue des pics et montagnes environnantes
  • sentier Taylor Creek - 8 km dans un canyon étroit le long du ruisseau Taylor jusqu'à Double Arch Alcove
  • sentier Wildcat Canyon - 10 km du chemin Kolob Terrace au canyon Wildcat
  • sentier Hop Valley - 14 miles/22 km du chemin Kolob Terrace jusqu'à la vallée Hop

sentiers difficiles :

sentier La Verkin Creek - 14 miles/22,5 km à partir de Lee Pass sur le chemin Kolob Canyon vers Kolob Arch

Longue randonnée dans le parc national Zion

La longue randonnée dans le parc Zion est une expérience pas comme les autres. Marcher parmi les formations rocheuses majestueuses vaut bien l'effort. Je vous invite à planifier à l'avance car la moitié des campings en arrière-pays ont besoin de réservations. L'autre moitié est accordée selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. Vous pouvez réserver en ligne le 5 du mois précédant votre séjour. Vous devrez créer un compte ici afin de faire les réservations.

Pour les emplacements de camping premier arrivé, premier servi, un permis est requis. Vous pouvez vous procurer votre permis la veille ou le jour du départ au Zion Canyon Visitor Center Wilderness Desk.

Sentiers de longue randonnée dans le parc national Zion :

  • sentier La Verkin Creek jusqu'à Kolob Arch (14 miles/22.5 km) ou à la jonction Hop Valley (13 miles/21 km) à partir du sentier Lee Pass
  • sentier Hop Valley jusqu'à Lee Pass (13 miles/21 km) ou à Kolob Arch (15 miles/24 km)
  • sentiers Wildcat Canyon et Connector de Hop Valley jusqu'à West Rim (9 miles/15 km)
  • sentier West Rim jusqu'à Grotto via le sentier Rim ou le sentier Telephone Canyon (14 miles/22.5 km)
  • Virgin River Narrows du sentier Chamberlains Ranch jusqu'au Temple of Sinawava (16 miles/26 km) *permis obligatoire
  • sentier Chinle jusqu'au sentier Coalpits Wash via Scoggins Wash (10 miles/16 km) ou jusqu'au site de camping 5 (16 miles/26 km)
  • sentier East Rim du sentier East Entrance à Stave Spring (12 miles/20 km) **une partie du sentier est fermé jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

Vous pouvez vous procurer le Wilderness Guide qui vous sera sûrement très utile afin de planifier votre aventure de longue randonnée. De plus, vous trouverez des informations utiles sur la randonnée dans le parc national de Zion, y compris une carte et une liste des campings précisant ceux sans rendez-vous et ceux pour lesquels vous aurez besoin d'une réservation.

Consultez le guide complet de longue randonnée avant votre aventure pour la liste d'équipement essentiel et des conseils utiles sur la planification d'une longue randonnée et la sécurité en arrière-pays.

Notre séjour au Utah fut très mémorable. Je pense déjà à ma prochaine visite et à toutes les aventures encore sur ma liste. J'ai réussi à en cocher quelques-unes cette fois mais ce n'est qu'un au revoir.

Nous nous sommes éventuellement dirigé vers le nord dans les magnifiques Adirondacks pour d'autres aventures de randonnée. Les opportunités de randonnée sont illimitées dans cette chaine de montagnes boisée, ce qui en fait une de mes destinations préférées aux États-Unis.

Randonnées dans le parc national Zion

Information on the Angels Landing Hike
Information on the Subway Hike
Information on the Canyon Overlook hike
.

Articles similaires

Legendary Hikes in Zion National Park

The state of Utah offers multiple options for the adventurous and nature-thirsty. Utah has over 40 state parks, five national parks, and numerous historic sites and national monuments. I had to choose since I couldn’t visit all the parks and attractions offered in this region on this trip. Two national parks particularly caught my attention. My partner agreed with me on this adventure, and we made plans to explore the hiking trails in Zion National Park.

About Zion National Park

Zion National Park is one of the most popular parks in the United States partly because of two famous hikes. Angels Landing and The Narrows alone attract thousands of tourists every year. So, they are naturally a staple in Zion.

Zion National Park is in the state of Utah in the Southwestern United States. It is south enough to have mild winters but sees enough snow to have changing landscapes through the seasons.

Where to stay when visiting Zion National Park?

The park offers three campgrounds. The Watchmen is open year-round and requires reservations. The South Campground is open from March to October, and reservations are possible 14 days in advance. Lava Point Campground also opens in the spring with six sites available on a first-come, first-served basis. 

The charming town Springdale at the park’s entrance is perfect for accommodations while visiting the park. There are numerous hotels, motels and B&Bs, but I highly recommend the Bumbleberry Inn.

bumbleberry motel in Springdale close to the Zion National Park entrance

Its location is ideal as it is close to the park with the park shuttle stop just across the street and within walking distance of a grocery store and a few restaurants. And most of the rooms come with a view! The mountains of Zion surround the town, and the landscape is beautiful everywhere you look. 

I was saddened to learn that the Porter’s Smokehouse and Grill had burned down in 2020, as it would have made my shortlist for the top restaurants I ate at while in Springdale. However, I am happy to report that they are rebuilding, and by the time you read this post, they should be open again for business. 

Exploring Zion National Park

A shuttle bus runs along the route to transport tourists from one point to another. From March to October, this is the only way to get around in the park; no cars are allowed. The shuttle service is included and unlimited with the park entrance fee.

Plan a day to explore the park from stop to stop. Every stop is worthwhile, but my favourites are Emerald Pool, Weeping Rock and Grotto. Each with an easy short trail.

The Riverside Walk is also great for enjoying the park’s beautiful sights.

the River Trail following the river with cliffs on each side in Zion National Park
River Walk in Zion National Park

Zion-Mount Carmel Tunnel

The park is also home to the Zion-Mount Carmel Tunnel, which runs over one mile long. The construction of the tunnel was completed in 1930. It is the only available route from Zion, Bryce and the Grand Canyon parks.

If you wish to ride through the tunnel, be advised that there are restrictions for larger vehicles. RVs over 11 feet in height and 7 feet wide will need a permit and a vehicle escort to travel through the tunnel.

Hiking trails in Zion National Park

The Narrows (bottom-up)

  • distance up to 15 km
  • estimated time up to 8 hours
  • located in the Zion Canyon, shuttle stop 9 Temple of Sinawava

As soon as we arrived, we inquired, and it was with regret that we learned that The Narrows would be closed to hikers for a few weeks. Since this hike is inside a narrow canyon (hence its name), the risk of flash floods is exceptionally high in the spring. 

The park will close the trail for the safety of hikers when the risk of floods is high. Inquire at the park’s Visitor Center upon your arrival for more information. The Narrows will generally be closed from mid-March to the end of May. However, closers could last longer if it was a particularly snowy winter. 

You will be wading water all through The Narrows. The water level can be shallow or deep enough to swim, depending on the time of year. The water can be refreshing on a hot summer day. 

If you are planning on hiking The Narrows in the winter or early spring, it is recommended to wear neoprene clothes. Zion Outfitter rents various gear for this hike, such as neoprene socks and boots, dry pants and drybags. 

The Narrows can also be done top-down as a multi-day 26 km (16 miles) hike. You will require a wilderness permit for this route. See Backpacking in Zion National Park for more information.

Angels Landing

  • distance 9 km
  • elevation gain 480 m
  • altitude 1765 m
  • estimated time 4 hours
  • permit required (through a lottery)
  • located in Zion Canyon, shuttle stop 6 (the Grotto), across the street beyond the footbridge
Angles Landing Hike from Scout Lookout

The next day, we attacked the primary reason for our visit to Zion: Angels Landing. This path leads to a point so high that only angels can land there. This hike is the most popular hike in the park and the busiest one as well. Because of its popularity, it is now required to apply for a trail permit. The permits are awarded through a lottery; cross your fingers and hope to be picked!

The trail is considered difficult and dangerous since it is exposed and sometimes very narrow, with cliff drop-offs on either side. Therefore, be vigilant and patient on the busy trail.

Hiking to Scout Lookout

We are at the trailhead early in the morning to avoid the crowds. The start of the trail is very well laid out, and it feels more like walking on a sidewalk than climbing a mountain. Then comes the famous Walter’s Wiggles, a series of endless switchbacks where a few breaks are necessary to catch our breath.

We arrive at Scout Lookout somewhat before the three-kilometre mark. The views are already impressive. This section represents the decision point; here, hikers decide to continue for the narrow and exposed part of the trail or to turn back. The summit is less than a kilometre away, almost 150 meters higher.

Hiking to Angels Landing

On the other hand, it is here that the real adventure begins: the chains and dizzying views from the top of the cliffs. Although I became highly nervous and hesitant to continue following Scout Lookout during the first chains section, there is no way I came this far to turn back. I take a deep breath and forge ahead.

Hiking Angles Landing in Zion National Park with the help of the chains

Without realizing it, the fear subsides and disappears completely before the return trip. But I must admit that the chains remained my best friends for the duration of the climb!

Once at the top, the 360-degree view of the surrounding canyons and cliffs is impressive.

By the time we decided to head back down, the crowds had arrived, and the waits were long to either get through the narrow parts of the trail or navigate the chains between hikers. However, I am pleased with our early start, which allowed us to avoid these long waits on the way up.

The Subway (Left Fork of North Creek Trail – bottom-up route)

  • distance 15 km
  • elevation gain/loss 398 m
  • estimated time 6 hours
  • wilderness permit required 
  • located in Kolob Canyon

About the trail

hiking down Kolob Canyon in Zion National Park

The second hike in the park takes us to the bottom of Kolob Canyon, The Subway via the Left Fork of North Creek Trail. The trail runs along the Left Fork stream at the bottom of the canyon, crossing waterfalls and cascades flanked by rock walls that rise 365 meters above our heads.

The Left Fork trailhead is on Kolob Terrace Road in the Kolob Canyon area.

Wilderness Permit

You will be required to buy a wilderness permit for this hike. Applications for permits with the online advance lottery can be made two months before the day of the trek, from April through October. You can also make a calendar reservation one month before your hike or from November through March. Lastly, you also have the option to use the last-minute drawing the week before (up to 2 days prior) for your hike.

We purchased our permit on the day of the trek at the Zion Canyon Visitor Center Wilderness Desk. Note that they limit the number of permits allocated each day, so you may want to plan or be at the counter as soon as it opens, hoping there will be permits available.

Renting gear

Since the hike consists of several stream crossings and, at times, the trail is the creek bed, we made the wise decision to rent neoprene socks and boots at Zion Outfitter. Spring also brings higher water levels, and we didn’t regret our choice. Although this equipment is not mandatory or by any means necessary, it is undoubtedly helpful against the water’s cold and safer since the bottom of the stream can be very slippery.

fording Left Fork Creek
Left Fork Creek is the trail
Wearing neoprene socks and shoes for the trail

Left Fork Trail

The first minutes on the trail are through a wooded area, then comes the descent to the bottom of the canyon. The slope is steep but well-indicated. Once at the bottom, the trail turns left and follows Left Fork Creek for the next four kilometres. You have to follow the creek or walk in the water going up cascades.

The Subway

We arrive at the famous Subway at the end of these four kilometres. The rock walls get closer, forming a kind of tunnel. We walk to the end of the Subway as the rock walls get closer to encompass us.

hiker walking in the Subway with a rockwall forming a tunnel and water flowing at the bottom
the end of the Subway Trail where the canyon gets narrow

The return is by the same route, following or walking right in Fork Left Creek back to the trail going up and out of the canyon.

Hikers can also do this hike top-down from the Wildcat Canyon trailhead. It is a 15 km (9.5 miles) hike ending at the Left Fork trailhead. This route includes canyoneering and requires gear such as ropes and harnesses. A wilderness permit is also mandatory.

Canyon Overlook Trail

  • distance 1.6 km
  • elevation gain 50 m
  • estimated time 1 hour
  • located in Zion Canyon east of the Zion-Mount Carmel Tunnel

A final hike in Zion Park brings us further across the famous Mount Carmel Tunnel. The Canyon Overlook Trail is a short hike that leads to a lookout over Zion Canyon. The views are naturally splendid and worth it. It is a busy trail that families with younger children can enjoy.

Zion Canyon form the Canyon Overlook Trail

More Hiking Trails in Zion National  Park

Easy trails:

  • Pa’rus Trail – 5 km on a paved path along the Virgin River at the Visitor Centre
  • Lower Emerald Pool – 2 km at stop #5
  • Grotto Trail – 2 km at stop #5 or #6 (the trail follows the road between the two shuttle stops)
  • Riverside Walk – 3.5 km paved path at stop #9 follows the Virgin River
  • Timber Creek Overlook Trail – 2 km from the Kolob Canyon Viewpoint on the ridge of Kolob Canyon

Moderate trails:

  • Kayenta Trail and the Emerald Pools – 5 km trail to the upper Emerald Pools via the Kayenta Trail, stop #6
  • Watchman Trail – 5 km at the Visitor Center
  • Northgate Peaks Trail – 7 km from the Wildcat Canyon trailhead on Kolob Terrace Rd to the viewpoint of the peaks and surrounding mountains
  • Taylor Creek Trail – 8 km in a narrow canyon along the Taylor Creek to the Double Arch Alcove
  • Wildcat Canyon Trail – 10 km from the Kolob Terrace Rd to the Wildcat Canyon
  • Hop Valley Trail – 14 miles/22 km from the Kolob Terrace Rd to Hop Valley

Challenging trails:

La Verkin Creek Trail – 14 miles/22.5 km from Lee Pass trailhead on Kolob Canyon Rd towards the Kolob Arch

Backpacking in Zion National Park

Backpacking in Zion is an experience like no other. Walking among the majestic rock formations is well worth the effort. I urge you to plan since half of the backcountry campsites need reservations. They do keep the other half as a first-come-first-serve option. You can make reservations online on the 5th of the month before your stay. You will need to create an account here to make your reservations.

For the first-come-first-serve campsites, a wilderness permit is required. You can purchase your access the day before or the day of departure at the Zion Canyon Visitor Center Wilderness Desk.

Multi-day trails in Zion National Park:

  • La Verkin Creek Trail to Kolob Arch (14 miles/22.5 km) or Hop Valley junction (13 miles/21 km) from the Lee Pass trailhead
  • Hop Valley Trail to Lee Pass (13 miles/21 km) or Kolob Arch (15 miles/24 km) from the Hop Valley trailhead
  • Wildcat Canyon and Connector Trails from Hop Valley trailhead to West Rim trailhead (9 miles/15 km)
  • West Rim trailhead to Grotto via Rim Trail or Telephone Canyon trail (14 miles/22.5 km)
  • Virgin River Narrows from Chamberlains Ranch Trailhead to the Temple of Sinawava (16 miles/26 km) *wilderness permit required
  • Chinle Trailhead to Coalpits Wash Trailhead via Scoggins Wash (10 miles/16 km) or to campsite 5 (16 miles/26 km)
  • East Rim Trail from East Entrance trailhead to Stave Spring (12 miles/20 km) **Some indefinite closers are in effect. Inquire at the park Visitor Center

Zion’s Wilderness Guide will help with planning your backpacking adventure. In addition, you will find helpful information about backpacking in Zion National Park, including a map and a list of the campsites specifying the walk-in ones and those for which you will need a reservation.

Check out this complete guide on backpacking before your trip for essential gear and helpful tips on planning your adventure and staying safe in the backcountry.

Our stay in Utah was very memorable. I’m already thinking about my next visit, and all the adventures are still on my list. I managed to check off a few this time, but Utah, I will see you again!

We eventually went north to the stunning Adirondacks for more hiking adventures. The endless hiking opportunities in this vast forested mountain range are among my favourite destinations in the United States!

Hiking Trails in Zion National Park

Information on the Angels Landing Hike
Information on the Subway Hike
Information on the Canyon Overlook hike
.

Similar Posts