view from the Franconia Ridge Trail

Randonnée au sommet du Mont Lafayette

Les Montagnes Blanches du New Hampshire aux États-Unis sont l'une de mes destinations préférées pour une aventure en montagne. La forêt nationale des Montagnes Blanches comprend la chaîne de montagnes qui traverse le New Hampshire et le Maine. Des centaines de randonnées sont possibles pour tous les niveaux et tous les goûts. La randonnée jusqu'au sommet du mont Lafayette via la boucle Franconia Ridge est l'une des randonnées les plus populaires du parc.

Un peu sur Franconia Ridge

La boucle de Franconia inclut quatre sentiers différents : le sentier Falling Waters, le sentier Franconia Ridge, le sentier Greenleaf et le sentier Old Bridal Path.  

La boucle parcourt trois sommets; mont Little Haystack, mont Lincoln et le fameux mont Lafayette.

Le début du sentier se situe en face du camping Lafayette à environ 15 minutes sur l'autoroute 93 au sud de Franconia. Je vous suggère d'y être assez tôt puisque le stationnement Lafayette Place East se rempli rapidement, tout spécialement par une belle journée ensoleillée. 

De plus, il faut prévoir des frais de visiteurs. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site du parc

Épinglez pour plus tard

Mount Lafayette summit and the Franconia Ridge Trail
guide de randonnée du mont Lafayette

Équipement de randonnée

La randonnée jusqu'au sommet du mont Lafayette est une randonnée d'une journée. Assurez-vous d'avoir l'équipement nécessaire pour rester en sécurité, au chaud et bien hydraté sur les sentiers. Les randonneurs doivent tenir compte de la météo et de leurs capacités lors de la planification de cette randonnée. 

Pour une liste complète de l'équipement de randonnée que j'utilise pour une randonnée comme celle-ci, lire Liste d'équipement de randonnée.

Sur les sentiers du mont Lafayette

Le sentier Falling Waters

Depuis le stationnement, vous vous engagez sur le sentier Falling Waters qui longe un ruisseau sur plusieurs kilomètres. Le sentier porte bien son nom puisqu'il permet d'admirer les chutes tout au long de l'ascension.

Un petit détour vous emmène également à Shining Rock, une paroi rocheuse humide et brillante reflétant la lumière du soleil. Les vues du côté de cette paroi rocheuse sont incroyables.

Falls on Falling Waters Trail

Vous atteindrez le premier sommet, Little Haystack, après cinq kilomètres de randonnée et de brouillage parmi les rochers et les éboulis. L'intersection du sentier Franconia Ridge se trouve au sommet de Little Haystack. Les vues sur les environs sont splendides.

Le sentier Franconia Ridge

Ce sentier longe la crête Franconia sur les prochains deux kilomètres pour rejoindre le sommet Lincoln et le sommet du mont Lafayette. Tout autour, les montagnes environnantes sont visibles à travers les nuages. Le sentier est visible tout au long de la crête dénudée d'arbre.

Le vent peut également être violent puisque toute la longueur de la crête est au-dessus de la limite des arbres. Pour cette raison, vous devez vous assurer de vous habiller en conséquence et d'apporter des couches que vous pouvez ajouter une fois au sommet.

Franconia Ridge to Mount Lafayette Summit
Mountain views from Franconia Ridge to Mount Lafayette summit
view from the Franconia Ridge Trail towards summit of Mount Lafayette

Le sommet

Le sommet du mont Lafayette se dresse à un peu plus de sept kilomètres du départ à 1600 mètres d'altitude. Il est généralement assez fréquenté. Les randonneurs profiteront des belles journées à partir du printemps jusqu'à l'automne. Certains feront également de la randonnée sur le mont en hiver.

Je comprends la raison de la popularité de ce sommet. Le spectacle est à couper le souffle. La vue s'étend sur 360 degrés et chaque côté offre une scène féerique au-dessus des nuages.

Mount Lafayette Summit
standing on top of Mount Lafayette
Greenleaf Hut

Le sentier Greenleaf

Depuis le sommet du mont Lafayette, vous empruntez le sentier Greenleaf jusqu'au refuge Greenleaf. La descente est rapide à travers les rochers qui parsèment le sentier.

Certains randonneurs feront une pause au refuge et passeront du temps autour du lac Eagle. Notez que le refuge est fermé pendant les mois d'hiver.

Le sentier Old Bridal Path

Le refuge Greenleaf marque l'intersection du sentier Old Bridal Path. Ce sentier continue vers le bas pour ramener les randonneurs au stationnement Lafayette Place East. 

Vous retournerez en forêt pour randonner le long du sentier boisé. En chemin, vous tomberez sur une zone qui sert d'aire de repos improvisée pour les randonneurs où toute la crête de Franconia est visible permettant de retracer l'itinéraire d'un sommet à l'autre. 

Montagnes Blanches

La randonnée dans les Montagnes Blanches offre des paysages incroyables et un bon défi. Si vous avez aimé cette randonnée sur le mont Lafayette, vous apprécierez certainement les sentiers du mont Washington.

Pour un autre défi dans la partie nord-est des États-Unis, vous pouvez envisager passer du temps dans les Adirondacks. Ils sont une merveille pour les randonneurs en toutes saisons. Lisez à propos de mon week-end de randonnée à Keene Valley, au coeur des Adirondacks.

.

Articles similaires

4 Comments

  1. I loveee visiting and hiking in New Hampshire!! It’s always so beautiful. Mount Lafayette sounds like a great hike! Thank you for sharing ?

  2. The views from Mount Lafayette Summit are spectacular. Hiking like this is on my bucket list of things to do. Thanks for sharing your hiking adventure. Pictures are very captivating and enticing.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

view from the Franconia Ridge Trail

Hiking Mount Lafayette via Franconia Ridge

The White Mountains of New Hampshire in the United States is one of my favourite destinations for a mountain adventure. The White Mountains National Forest includes the mountain range that runs through New Hampshire and Maine. Hundreds of hikes are possible for all levels and different tastes. Hiking to Mount Lafayette’s summit via the Franconia Ridge Loop is one of the more famous hikes in the park.

About Franconia Ridge

The Franconia Ridge Loop Trail includes four different trails: the Falling Waters Trail, the Franconia Ridge Trail, the Greenleaf Trail and Old Bridal Path.  

The loop takes hikers across three peaks: Mount Little Haystack, Mount Lincoln and the famous Mount Lafayette.

The trailhead sits across the street from the Lafayette Campground. It is a 15-minute ride south of the charming town of Franconia. I suggest heading out early as the Lafayette Place East parking fills out fairly quickly, especially on nice summer days. 

Also, the Franconia Notch State Park charges a visitor fee. You can find out more on the State Parks’ Website here

Save it for later.

Mount Lafayette summit and the Franconia Ridge Trail
guide de randonnée du mont Lafayette

Hiking Equipment

Hiking to Mount Lafayette’s summit is a full-day hike. Please make sure to have the necessary gear to stay safe, warm and hydrated on the trails. Hikers must consider the weather and their abilities when planning this hike. 

For a full list of the hiking gear that I usually bring with me on a hike such as this one, check out Essential Hiking Gear.

On the Trail to Mount Lafayette Summit

Falling Waters Trail

From the parking, head out on the Falling Waters Trail, which runs along a stream for several kilometres. The trail is aptly named since it allows you to admire the falls throughout the ascent.

A short detour also takes you to Shining Rock, a shiny, wet rock face reflecting the sunlight. The views from the side of this rock wall are amazing.

Falls on Falling Waters Trail

You will reach the first peak, Little Haystack, after five kilometres of hiking and scrambling among rocks and scree. The intersection for the Franconia Ridge Trail is at the top of Little Haystack. The views of the surroundings are splendid.

Franconia Ridge Trail

This trail follows the Franconia ridge for the next two kilometres to reach the Lincoln summit and the top of Mount Lafayette. The surrounding mountains are visible through the clouds on each side of the treeless ridge for the whole two kilometres.

The wind might also be fierce since the whole length of the ridge is above the treeline. For this reason, you have to make sure you dress accordingly and bring along layers you can add once at the top.

Franconia Ridge to Mount Lafayette Summit
Mountain views from Franconia Ridge to Mount Lafayette summit
view from the Franconia Ridge Trail towards summit of Mount Lafayette

The Summit

The summit of Mount Lafayette stands just over seven kilometres from the start at 1600 meters high and is usually rather busy. Hikers will take advantage of beautiful days from spring to fall. Some will also hike in the wintertime.

I understand the reason for the popularity of this summit, considering the 360-degree views are breathtaking. Each side offers a magical scene above the clouds.

Mount Lafayette Summit
standing on top of Mount Lafayette
Greenleaf Hut

Greenleaf Trail

From Mount Lafayette summit, you will head down on the Greenleaf Trail to the Greenleaf Hut. The descent is quick through the rocks strewn on the trail. It is a steep scramble down.

Some hikers will take a break at the hut and spend time around Eagle Lake. Note that the hut is closed during the winter months.

The Old Bridal Path

The Greenleaf Hut marks the intersection of the Old Bridal Path Trail. This trail continues down to bring hikers back to the Lafayette Place East parking. 

You will head back into the forest to hike along the wooded trail. On the way, you will come upon an area that serves as a makeshift rest area for hikers where the whole Franconia Ridge is visible above allowing you to retrace the route from one peak to the next. It is quite impressive to realize how far you have travelled on the loop. 

White Mountains

Hiking in the White Mountains offers amazing scenery and a good challenge. If you appreciated this hike on Mount Lafayette, you would certainly enjoy conquering Mount Washington.

For another challenge in the northeastern part of the United States, you might want to look into spending some time in the Adirondacks. They are a wonder for hikers during all seasons. Read about my hiking weekend in Keene Valley, the heart of the Adirondacks.

.

Similar Posts