Conquérir le sommet du mont Temple

Le mont Temple est la plus haute montagne de la région de Banff. Il surplombe le lac Louise du haut de ses 3 543 mètres d'altitude. Son sommet enneigé toute l'année attire les alpinistes et les randonneurs de partout au pays. La randonnée vers le sommet du mont Temple est un accomplissement que tout alpiniste veut cocher sur sa liste.

Un peu sur le mont Temple

Les seize kilomètres aller-retour pour atteindre son sommet représentent un dénivelé positif de près de 1 700 mètres. La randonnée offre un peu de tout; vallées, lacs, brouillages, bandes rocheuses, ravins, éboulis, neige et glace.

Cette randonnée est considérée comme difficile et réservée aux randonneurs et aux grimpeurs expérimentés. Il y a des sections exposées et les chutes de pierres sont fréquentes. Pour cette raison, un casque protecteur est fortement recommandé. Vous pouvez en louer un ici dans le village du lac Louise.

Pour une liste détaillée de l'équipement que j'utilise lors d'une grimpe telle que celle du mont Temple, vous pouvez consultez ma liste d'équipement essentiel.

La montagne se trouve sur le territoire du parc national de Banff, un laisser-passer de Parcs Canada est nécessaire.

Épinglez pour plus tard

hiker on the rocky trail of Mount Temple
snowy summit of Mount Temple

Pour se rendre au début du sentier

À compter de la saison 2023, l'accès au lac Moraine se fera exclusivement par navette. Vous pouvez réserver votre place sur la navette sur le site Web de Parcs Canada. La navette et les transports en commun circulent plusieurs fois par jour, mais il est essentiel de s'y rendre tôt le matin pour avoir suffisamment de temps pour cette longue journée de randonnée.

Le sentier d'approche

Le sentier commence au célèbre lac Moraine, où les deux premiers kilomètres gravissent plusieurs lacets pour atteindre l'intersection vers la vallée de Larch. La randonnée à travers la vallée offre une petite pause de la montée constante depuis le début. La forêt laisse place à de petits arbustes, et la vue s'ouvre sur les lacs et les montagnes environnantes. Vous pouvez facilement voir le sentier du col Sentinel, que vous devez atteindre pour grimper le mont Temple. Le pic Eiffel et la montagne Pinnacle se dressent devant vous alors que vous traversez la vallée en direction du col Sentinel.

Larch Valley with the ten peaks in the distance on the approach for the Mount Temple scramble

Les lacets reprennent ensuite pour nous amener au col Sentinel entre la montagne Pinnacle et le mont Temple. Déjà à environ 2 600 mètres d'altitude, la neige est bien présente, et le vent nous oblige à rajouter une couche. L'impressionnant mont Temple se dresse à droite du col. C'est là que commence la véritable ascension du mont Temple.

Standing on Sentinel Pass looking at Pinnacle Mountain and Larch Valley
La montagne Pinnacle de l'autre côté du col Sentinel

La grimpe

Au sommet du col, nous enfilons nos casques d'escalade. Le sentier étant très exposé, le port du casque est fortement recommandé. Les chutes de pierres par les grimpeurs plus haut sont souvent la cause de blessures graves sur Temple.

L'itinéraire vers le sommet passe par des éboulis, des ravins et des bandes rocheuses. Bien que la montée prenne plusieurs heures, les paysages changent et chaque partie du sentier comporte son défi. 

La deuxième bande rocheuse, considérée comme le crux du parcours (la partie la plus difficile), m'a rendu incroyablement nerveuse. Le premier mur de trois mètres est assez facile à escalader, mais le deuxième mur de cinq mètres est un peu plus technique. Néanmoins, j'étais déterminée à atteindre le sommet et à surmonter la fameuse bande rocheuse.

crossing a ravine on Mount Temple
crux of the route climbing a five-meter rock band on Mount Temple

Bien que la montée est longue et ardue parmi rochers et éboulis, la suite de l'ascension ne comporte plus d'élément technique. Par contre, il faut rester vigilant car le terrain est escarpé et exposé. Les cairns et les petits rubans rose vif attachés aux rochers nous montrent le chemin mais peuvent parfois être difficiles à repérer tout au long du parcours.

scrambling on Mount Temple with the valley and lake below
hiker scrambling on the rocky trail nearing the summit on Mount Temple

Le sommet

Après sept heures d'ascension, nous sommes enfin récompensés. Le sommet offre une vue à 360 degrés sur les vallées et les montagnes environnantes. Malheureusement, la fumée des incendies de forêt qui persiste dans l'air limite la vue sur les montagnes voisines, cachant efficacement la mer de montagnes qui s'étend à l'infini. Quoi qu'il en soit, je profite au maximum du sommet, prenant quelques instants pour jouer dans la neige. 

Une boîte pleine de messages de randonneurs est nichée sous un rocher au sommet. Après avoir lu certains des messages des grimpeurs précédents, nous ajoutons les nôtres.

playing in the snow on Mount Temple's summit
Messages by previous hikers and scramblers on Mount Temple's summit

La descente

Nous descendons par la même route. Bien que plus rapide que la montée, il faut compter quelques heures pour revenir. 

La bande rocheuse qui m'a tant angoissée en montant m'a causée quelques secondes de panique mais s'est avérée plus facile que prévu. 

Les pieds meurtris et les jambes fatiguées, nous atteignons le lac Moraine pour terminer cette longue et épuisante journée de 12 heures.

a view of the surrounding mountains from the summit of Mount Temple
Adventuresome Jo on top of Whistlers in Jasper

Rien ne compare au sentiment d'accomplissement et à la fierté d'avoir mis les pieds au sommet de cette magnifique et impressionnante montagne !

Mount Temple as seen from the tower of Babel near Moraine Lake

Mot de la fin sur la randonnée du mont Temple

Si vous planifiez une randonnée au sommet de cette montagne impressionnante, je vous recommande de vous procurer le Guide du grimpeur de Parcs Canada. Vous pouvez l'imprimer et l'emporter avec vous lors de la randonnée. Je m'y suis référé à plusieurs reprises lors de ma grimpe du mont Temple.

Les randonnées et les grimpes des Rocheuses

.

Articles similaires

Scramble up to Mount Temple’s Snowy Summit

Mount Temple is the highest mountain in the Banff area. It overlooks Lake Louise from 3,543 meters above sea level. Its year-round snow-capped peak attracts mountaineers and hikers from across the country. The scramble to the summit of Mount Temple is an accomplishment any peak bagger wants to check off his list. Here is what you need to know to plan a hike on Mount Temple.

About Mount Temple’s Scramble

The sixteen-kilometre round trip to reach its summit represents a vertical gain of close to 1,700 meters. The journey offers a bit of everything; valleys, lakes, scrambles, rock bands, gullies, scree, snow, and ice.

This hike is considered difficult and should be limited to experienced hikers and scramblers. There are exposed sections and frequent rockfalls. For this reason, a helmet is highly recommended. You can rent one here in Lake Louise.

For a detailed list of the hiking equipment I use on hikes and scrambles, such as Mount Temple, you can check out my essential hiking gear list.

The mountain is within Banff National Park boundaries, and a Park Canada pass is required.

Save it for later.

hiker on the rocky trail of Mount Temple
snowy summit of Mount Temple

Getting to the trailhead

As of the 2023 season, access to Moraine Lake will be exclusively by shuttle. You can reserve your spot on the shuttle on the Parcs Canada Website. The shuttle and public transportation run many times a day, but getting on the first one in the morning is essential to have enough time for this long day scramble.

The approach

The trail begins at the famous Moraine Lake, where the first two kilometres climb several switchbacks to reach the intersection towards Larch Valley. The hike through the valley provides a little break from the elevation gain. The forest gives way to small shrubs, and the view opens up to the surrounding lakes and mountains. You can easily see the trail up the Sentinel Pass, which you need to reach to hike up Mount Temple. Eiffel Peak and Pinnacle Mountain stand before you as you traverse the valley toward Sentinel Pass.

Larch Valley with the ten peaks in the distance on the approach for the Mount Temple scramble

The switchbacks then resume to bring us to Sentinel Pass between Pinnacle Mountain and Mount Temple. Already about 2,600 meters high, the snow is present, and the wind forces us to add a layer. The impressive Mount Temple stands tall to the right of the pass. This is where the real ascent of Mount Temple begins.

Standing on Sentinel Pass looking at Pinnacle Mountain and Larch Valley
Pinnacle Mountain across the Sentinel Pass

The Scramble

At the top of the pass, we put on our climbing helmets. As the trail is very exposed, wearing a helmet is highly recommended. Rockfalls by climbers higher up are often the cause of serious injury on Temple.

The route to the summit passes through scree paths, gullies and rock bands. Although the climb takes several hours, the landscapes change, and each part of the trail comes with its challenge. 

The second rock band considered the crux of the route (the most challenging part), made me incredibly nervous. The first three-meter wall is easy enough to climb, but the second five-meter wall is a bit more technical. Nevertheless, I was determined to reach the top and make it up the rock band.

crossing a ravine on Mount Temple
crux of the route climbing a five-meter rock band on Mount Temple

Although long and arduous on boulders and scree, the rest of the climb no longer includes any technical element. On the other hand, we must continue to be vigilant since the terrain is steep and exposed. Cairns and small bright pink ribbons tied to rocks show us the way but can sometimes be challenging to spot throughout the route.

scrambling on Mount Temple with the valley and lake below
hiker scrambling on the rocky trail nearing the summit on Mount Temple

The Summit

After climbing for seven hours, we are finally rewarded. The summit offers a 360-degree view of the surrounding valleys and mountains. Unfortunately, the smoke from the forest fires that lingers in the air limits the view of the nearby mountains, effectively hiding the sea of ​​mountains that stretches endlessly. Regardless, I make the most of the summit, taking a few moments to play in the snow. 

A box full of messages from previous scramblers is nestled under a rock. After reading some of the messages from earlier hikers of the past few years, we add our own.

playing in the snow on Mount Temple's summit
Messages by previous hikers and scramblers on Mount Temple's summit

The descent

We descend by the same path. Although faster than the climb, it takes a few hours to return. 

The rock band that was so distressing to me on the way up caused a few seconds of panic but it turned out to be easier than anticipated. 

With bruised feet and worn-out legs, we reach Moraine Lake to end this long, exhausting, 12-hour day.

a view of the surrounding mountains from the summit of Mount Temple
Adventuresome Jo on top of Whistlers in Jasper

Nothing compares to the sense of accomplishment and pride at having set foot on the top of this magnificent and impressive mountain!

Mount Temple as seen from the tower of Babel near Moraine Lake

Last Words on Mount Temple’s Scramble

If you plan to conquer the impressive mountain, Parks Canada has a Scrambler’s Guide that will be helpful. You can print it and bring it with you on your hike to Mount Temple’s summit. I referred to it often while scrambling Mount Temple.

More Hiking and Scrambling in the Rockies

.

Similar Posts

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *