Top 13 attractions à Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve

Que vous ayez une journée ou une semaine à Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve, vous ne manquerez pas d'endroits à explorer. Cet article répertorie les 13 principales choses à faire à Saint-Jean. Par conséquent, assurez-vous de les ajouter à votre liste pendant votre séjour. Ils sont indispensables pour compléter l'expérience à Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve!

Vous n'avez pas le temps de lire maintenant ? Épinglez-le pour plus tard!

View of the harbour in St. John's Newfoundland on a pin of the Things to Do in St. John's
vue du port de St. Jean de Terre-Neuve

* Divulgation : cet article peut contenir des liens d'affiliation, ce qui signifie que je peux recevoir une commission sans frais supplémentaires pour vous si vous cliquez sur un lien. Pour en savoir plus

Où se trouve Saint-Jean?

Cette charmante ville est située sur un port de la côte est de Terre-Neuve au Canada. C'est la ville la plus à l'est du pays.

Pourquoi visiter Saint-Jean?

Cette charmante ville offre plusieurs attractions pour les touristes. De plus, la capitale provinciale propose une panoplie d'activités pour les amateurs de plein air, de culture ou d'histoire ou les artistes. Nous avons apprécié un peu de tout ce que Saint-Jean a à offrir pendant notre séjour dans la ville.

Un peu d'histoire

Cette ville vieille de 500 ans est riche en histoire. Au fil des siècles, elle a été envahie, abandonnée, incendiée et reconstruite. Cette province canadienne fut la dernière à être ajoutée à la confédération pour devenir la 10e province en 1949.

City of St. John's Newfoundland with the busy harbour

Top Things to Do in St. John’s

#1 Marcher le long du port

Le port est impressionnant avec ses immenses navires garés le long des quais. Promenez-vous sur Harbor Drive pour admirer les quais et les navires. 

Les marins considéraient le port comme plus que convenable ; de hautes parois rocheuses l'abritent de chaque côté. Cependant, les capitaines doivent naviguer leurs grands navires dans le passage étroit entre les parois rocheuses. Cette manœuvre est connue sous le nom de « enfiler le chas de l'aiguille ».

Canadian flags on a ship docked at the St. John's harbour in Newfoundland

#2 Visiter les maisons colorées "jellybeans"

Ces maisons colorées sont devenues une icône pour cette charmante ville. J'aime à quel point elles rendent l'atmosphère joyeux. Rues après rues, de haut en bas, ces jolies maisons contribuent au charme de Saint-Jean. 

À l'époque, il était courant pour les pêcheurs de peindre leurs maisons de la même couleur que leurs bateaux. De plus, ils choisissaient habituellement des couleurs vives pour que la maison soit visible de la mer et dans le brouillard. Cela les guidait vers le rivage.

Même si les maisons "jellybeans" à Saint-Jean ne sont pas des hangars à bateaux et ne se trouvent pas sur la côte, elles sont uniques et mémorables. 

#3 Visiter Quidi Vidi

Ce petit village est tout à fait charmant et mérite une visite des touristes. Les maisons de pêcheurs sur l'eau au bord des falaises sont incroyables.

En outre, il y a des snack-bars et la Quidi Vidi Brewing Co pour ceux qui ont faim et soif. L'art et l'artisanat sont également en exposition avec des créations d'artistes locaux disponible pour achat. Ce sont d'excellents souvenirs à ramener à la maison. 

Quidi Vidi village in St. John's Newfoundland

#4 Randonnée sur Signal Hill

Vous pouvez vous rendre au sommet de Signal Hill et découvrez son histoire et la vie de ceux qui ont vécu sur le rocher au cours des siècles passés.

Vous êtes replongé dans le temps avec le fort et les canons où les soldats ont combattu pendant les guerres et la tour Cabot où le signaleur a vécu et travaillé. De plus, les vues sur le port et la ville sont magnifiques du haut de la colline. 

Le Centre de découvertes au bas de la colline est un excellent endroit pour commencer la visite avec une présentation vidéo et une exposition détaillant l'histoire de Signal Hill et de ses habitants au cours des trois derniers siècles. 

Cabot Tower on SIgnal Hill in St. John's Newfoundland

#5 Regarder le lever du soleil à Cape Spear

Le phare de cap Spear est un lieu historique par Parcs Canada. Le grand phare surplombe l'océan, avertissant les marins du danger des rochers et des falaises à proximité.

Il y a des sentiers pédestres le long des rives. Gardez également un œil sur les baleines car vous pouvez souvent les voir nager dans les eaux près du rivage. 

Il est possible de visiter le bâtiment le plus éloigné des lieux pour voir les quartiers d'habitation du gardien de phare et de sa famille et en apprendre davantage sur leur vie quotidienne au cap Spear.  

C'est le point le plus à l'est de l'Amérique du Nord. Donc, si vous êtes assez tôt pour attraper le lever du soleil, vous serez le premier sur le continent à le voir. Et c'est si beau comme le soleil sort de l'eau sous un ciel rosé. 

En descendant le sentier du phare vers la mer et le belvédère le plus à l'est, vous rencontrerez des bunkers impressionnants et des canons cachés de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Des panneaux d'interprétation le long du sentier vous renseignent sur ces bâtiments historiques.  

white lighthouse on the rocky shore in Cape Spear, Newfoundland

#6 Visiter le centre Johnson GEO Centre

Ce musée est une façon amusante d'en apprendre davantage sur la formation de Signal Hill, de l'île que nous connaissons sous le nom de Terre-Neuve et de notre planète et notre univers, ainsi que sur les missions spatiales passées et futures. 

La visite commence par un court métrage en guise d'introduction. Après le film, les portes s'ouvriront, et vous suivrez les flèches grises sur le tapis bleu pour vous amener d'exposition en exposition.

Les expositions vont de l'évolution de l'humanité, l'apparition de la vie sur la planète, la formation des continents, les volcans, les types de roches et ce qu'elles nous disent sur la terre et la vie. Nous en apprenons également sur les différents paysages de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et comment les études du territoire aident les géologues à mieux comprendre l'histoire de notre planète. Tout cela à travers des supports ludiques, interactifs et visuels qui plairont aux petits comme aux grands. 

An exhibit of the Johnson GEO Centre in St John's Newfoundland

#7 Voir le parc Harbourside et le Monument national de la guerre

Une visite au parc vous en apprendra sur l'histoire de la ville, ses guerres et sur le port. Le monument de la guerre de Terre-Neuve se trouve de l'autre côté de la rue. C'est un monument impressionnant inauguré le 1er juillet 1924.

Le parc présente également les sculptures de deux chiens, le terre-neuve et le labrador, sculptés par Luben Boykov, un sculpteur bulgare qui s'est installé à Terre-Neuve, au Canada, en 1990. Les deux chiens regardent le port, observant les allées et venues par la mer. 

Bien que l'origine du terre-neuve soit inconnue, nous pensons que les premiers chiens sont venus sur l'île avec des pêcheurs. Le gentil géant est élevé pour nager car il porte deux manteaux de fourrure imperméables et a des orteils palmés. Sa queue agit également comme un gouvernail dans l'eau. Il n'est donc pas étonnant que les pêcheurs aient adopté cette race. Ces gros chiens les ont bien servis au cours des dernières centaines d'années. 

Le retriever du Labrador est l'une des races de chiens les plus populaires au monde en raison de son tempérament doux et de son désir de plaire. Il est un descendant du terre-neuve mélangé à un setter et un pointeur anglais. Ce mélange a fait du labrador un bon retriever. Il a toujours les mêmes traits que le terre-neuve qui font de lui un bon nageur ; le manteau imperméable à double couche, les orteils palmés et la grande queue. Les pêcheurs sur de plus petits bateaux préféraient le labrador car il fait environ la moitié de la taille du terre-neuve. 

A Newfoundland and a Labrador dogs staring at the sea in St. John's Newfoundland

#8 Passer l'après-midi au parc Bowring

Une autre activité à St John's est d'aller nager ou de pique-niquer. Vous pouvez faire les deux au parc Bowring. C'est un magnifique parc avec de nombreuses activités et services.

Vous y trouverez des aires de pique-nique, de nombreux arbres jetant de l'ombre pour passer du temps à l'extérieur, une fontaine où canards et pigeons attendent d'être nourris, une aire de jeux et une pataugeoire, un terrain de soccer et un skatepark. ET… une piscine. La piscine est gratuite et il y a aussi des douches extérieures.

#9 Visiter The Rooms

S'il s'agit de l'histoire, des arts ou de la culture, vous pourrez le trouver à The Rooms. Le mandat de The Rooms est de collecter et de préserver des artefacts, de promouvoir les artistes locaux et la culture canadienne par le biais d'expositions et de préserver le patrimoine de la province, faisant de votre visite ici une expérience amusante d'apprentissage.

#10 Randonnée sur une section du sentier East Coast

Le fameux sentier East Coast erre sur la majeure partie de la côte est de Terre-Neuve sur plus de 300 kilomètres. Une partie de celui-ci traverse la ville. Au nord de Saint-Jean, près de Quidi Vidi, vous pouvez faire une randonnée sur le sentier Sugarloaf. Vous aurez une vue fantastique sur Quidi Vidi en contrebas, la baie et l'océan au loin.

Une autre option serait de parcourir le sentier Deadman's Bay près de Fort Amherst au sud de Saint-Jean. Encore une fois, ce sentier offre des vues pittoresques sur les falaises et l'océan.

La troisième option est la section Cape Spear Path. C'est une promenade plutôt facile derrière le phare du cap Spear. Le sentier suit la côte au sommet du plateau avec les vagues qui s'écrasent en dessous.

Si vous appréciez la randonnée sur le sentier East Coast ou un de ses tronçons, le sentier Spurwink Island Path est une section populaire avec l'arche de Berry Head.

View of the ocean from the trail on Cape Spear Path

#11 Passez du temps au centre-ville dans les pubs et les boutiques

Le centre-ville regorge de boutiques et de pubs. Il peut être assez occupé pendant l'été. Pour cette raison, une partie de la rue Water et de la rue George sont fermées à la circulation afin que les piétons puissent se promener librement d'une boutique à l'autre. Évidemment, après le magasinage, vous trouvez un pub avec terrasse pour boire un verre et bien manger.

#12 Visiter le fort Amherst

The historical site is located on South Head near the entrance of St. John’s Harbour. The fort from the 1700s was built strategically to defend the town from invasion during the French and British wars.

Les visiteurs peuvent profiter d'une vue sur l'océan et le Narrows à l'entrée du port depuis les falaises.

#13 Tour guidé de la basilique ou de la cathédral

Basilica in St. John's Newfoundland

Les deux bâtiments sont impressionnants avec des détails architecturaux incroyables et une histoire étonnante. 

Les guides font les visites de la basilique en costumes d'époque pour plus d'effet. Le personnel de la cathédrale est toujours disponible et se fera un plaisir de partager l'histoire du lieu. 

Ceci complète ma liste des meilleures attractions à Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve. Bien sûr, je pourrais en ajouter d'autres, mais les activités que j'ai choisies sont celles que j'ai le plus appréciées et que je recommande lors de votre visite.

Les aventures ne s'arrêtent pas à St-Jean. Bien que la capital de la province regorge d'attractions, vous devez profiter d'un road trip à Terre-Neuve afin d'apprécier toutes les aventures que cette merveilleuse province canadienne offre.

Si vous avez d'autres idées que je pourrais ajouter à ma liste de choses à faire à Saint-Jean, veuillez laisser un commentaire ou me contacter. Je serais ravi d'entendre ce que vous avez apprécié pendant votre séjour à Saint-Jean.

.

Articles similaires

10 Comments

  1. As a southern Ontario gal, St. John’s has been on my list of destinations for what seems like forever! Thanks for the reminder to bump it back to the top of my list!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

13 Top Things to do in St. John’s, Newfoundland

Whether you have one day or a week in St. John’s, Newfoundland, you will not run out of spots to explore. This article lists the top 13 things to do in St. John’s. Therefore, make sure to check out most of them during your stay. They are a must to complete the St. John’s experience!

Don’t have time to read now? Pin it for later.

View of the harbour in St. John's Newfoundland on a pin of the Things to Do in St. John's
vue du port de St. Jean de Terre-Neuve

*Discloser: This article may contain affiliate links, meaning I may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you purchase through a link. More information

Where is St. John’s?

This charming city sits on a harbour on the east coast of Newfoundland in Canada. It is the easternmost city in the country.

Why visit St. John’s?

This lovely town offers plenty to do for tourists. In addition, the province’s capital proposes a range of activities for outdoor enthusiasts, artists, and culture or history buffs. While we were here, we enjoyed a bit of all it has to offer during our stay in the city.

A bit of History

This 500-year-old town is rich in history. Over the centuries, it has been fought over, abandoned, burnt and rebuilt. This Canadian province was the last to be added to the confederation and became the 10th province in 1949.

City of St. John's Newfoundland with the busy harbour

Top Things to Do in St. John’s

#1 Walk along St. John’s Harbour

The harbour is impressive with its huge ships parked along the piers. Take a walk on Harbour Drive to take in the sights of the docks and the vessels. 

The seamen considered the harbour fine; high rock walls shelter it on either side. However, captains must navigate their large ships in the narrow passage between the rock walls. This maneuver is known as “threading the eye of the needle.”

Canadian flags on a ship docked at the St. John's harbour in Newfoundland

#2 Visit the jellybean row houses

Those colourful houses have become an icon for this charming city. I love how joyful it looks. Streets upon streets, up and down and across, these lovely houses contribute to the charm of St. John’s. 

Back in the day, it was common for fishermen to paint their houses the same colour as their boats. Moreover, they often chose bright colours so the house would be visible from the sea and in the fog. This would guide them back to shore.

Even though the jellybean houses in St. John’s are not boathouses and not by the coast, they are unique and memorable. 

#3 Visit Quidi Vidi

This small village is quite charming and warrants a visit from tourists. The fishermen’s houses on the water by the cliffs are amazing.

Also, there are snack bars and the Quidi Vidi Brewing Co for those who are hungry and thirsty. Arts and crafts are also on exhibit, with local crafts available to buy. They make excellent souvenirs to bring home. 

Quidi Vidi village in St. John's Newfoundland

#4 Hike up Signal Hill

You can make your way to the top of Signal Hill and learn about its history and the lives of those who lived on the rock over the past centuries.

You are thrown back in time with the fort and canons where soldiers fought during wars and the Cabot Tower where the signalman lived and worked. Furthermore, the views of the harbour and the city are stunning from the top of the hill. 

The Discovery Center at the bottom of the hill is a great place to start the visit, with a video presentation and an exhibit detailing the history of Signal Hill and its inhabitants over the past three centuries. 

Cabot Tower on SIgnal Hill in St. John's Newfoundland

#5 Catch the sunrise in Cape Spear

Cape Spear Lighthouse is a Historic Site by Parks Canada. The tall lighthouse overlooks the ocean, warning seamen of the nearby dangers of rocks and cliffs.

There are walking trails along the shores. Also, keep an eye out for whales as you can often see them swimming in those waters. 

It is possible to tour the farthest building on the premises to see the living quarters of the lightkeeper and his family and learn about their daily lives on Cape Spear.  

This is the easternmost point in North America. So if you are early enough to catch the sunrise, you will be the first one on the continent to see it. And it is beautiful as the sun appears out of the water under a pinkish sky. 

As you walk the trail down from the lighthouse towards the sea and the easternmost lookout, you will come across impressive bunkers and hidden canons from WWII. Discover all about it through interpretive signs along the trail.  

white lighthouse on the rocky shore in Cape Spear, Newfoundland

#6 Visit the Johnson GEO Centre

This museum is a fun way to learn about the formation of Signal Hill, the island we know as Newfoundland, our planet and universe, and past and future space missions. 

The tour starts with a short movie as an introduction. After the film, the doors will open, and you follow the grey arrows on the blue carpet to bring you from exhibit to exhibit.

The exhibits range from the evolution of humankind, the appearance of life on the planet, the formation of the continents, the volcanos, the types of rocks and what they tell us about the earth and life on it. We also learn about the different landscapes in Newfoundland and Labrador and how the studies of the land help geologists better understand the history of our planet. All this is done through fun, interactive, and visual aids that are enjoyable to children and adults alike. 

An exhibit of the Johnson GEO Centre in St John's Newfoundland

#7 See Harbourside Park and the National War Memorial

A visit to the park will teach you the town’s history, the wars and the harbour. The Newfoundland National War Memorial is across the street. It is an impressive monument inaugurated on July 1st, 1924, where it still stands today.

The park also features the sculptures of a Newfoundland dog and a Labrador dog by Luben Boykov, a Bulgarian sculptor who moved to Newfoundland, Canada, in 1990. Both dogs are looking out at the harbour, watching the comings and goings by sea. 

Although the origin of the Newfoundland dog is unknown, we believe that the first dogs came to the island with fishermen. The gentle giant is bred to swim as he wears two waterproof fur coats and has webbed toes. His tail also acts as a rudder in the water. So it is no wonder that fishermen adopted this breed. Those big dogs have served them well for the last few hundred years. 

The Labrador retriever is one of the most popular breeds of dogs in the world due to its gentle temperament and eagerness to please. He is a descendant of the Newfoundland dog mixed with an English setter and pointer. This mix made the Labrador a good retriever. He still has the same features as the Newfoundland that make him a good swimmer: the double-layered waterproof coat, the webbed toes and the large tail. Fishermen on smaller boats preferred the Labrador as he is about half the size of the Newfoundland dog. 

A Newfoundland and a Labrador dogs staring at the sea in St. John's Newfoundland

#8 Spend an afternoon at Bowring Park

Another thing to do while in St John’s is to go for a swim or a picnic. You can do both at Bowring Park. This is a beautiful park with many activities and services.

You will find picnic areas, many trees for shade to enjoy some time outside, a fountain where ducks and pigeons wait to be fed, a playground and a splash pad, a soccer field and a skatepark. AND… a pool. The pool is free to use, and there are outdoor showers also.

#9 Visit The Rooms

If it relates to history, arts, or culture, you can find it at The Rooms. The Rooms’ mandate is to collect and preserve artifacts, promote Canadian artists and culture through exhibits, and preserve the province’s heritage, making your visit here a learning and fun experience.

#10 Hike a part of the East Coast Trail

The famous East Coast Trail wanders through most of Newfoundland’s east coast for over 300 kilometres. A section of it passes through the city. North of St. John’s, near Quidi Vidi, you can hike the Sugarloaf Path. You will have fantastic views of the city below, the bay and the ocean in the distance.

Another option would be to hike the Deadman’s Bay Path near Fort Amherst, south of St. John’s. Again, this trail has picturesque views of the cliffs and the ocean.

The third option is the Cape Spear Path section of the East Coast Trail. It is a reasonably easy walk behind the Cape Spear lighthouse. The trail follows the coastline on top of the plateau with the waves crashing below.

If hiking the East Coast Trail in sections is something you enjoy, the Spurwink Island Path is part of the trail and features the famous Berry Head Arch.

View of the ocean from the trail on Cape Spear Path

#11 Spend time downtown at the pubs and shops

The downtown area is alive with shops and pubs. It can get pretty busy during the summer. Because of this, part of Water Street and George Street are closed to traffic so pedestrians can wander freely from one shop to the next. Obviously, after some shopping, you should find a pub with a terrace to enjoy a drink and good food with live music.

#12 Visit Fort Amherst

The historical site is located on South Head near the entrance of St. John’s Harbour. The fort from the 1700s was built strategically to defend the town from invasion during the French and British wars.

Visitors can enjoy a view of the ocean and the Narrows at the harbour entrance from the promontory.

#13 Tour the Basilica or the Cathedral

Basilica in St. John's Newfoundland

Both buildings are impressive with architectural details and history that are quite amazing. 

Guides do the tours of the Basilica in period costumes for added effect. The staff at the Cathedral are always on hand and will happily share the history of the place. 

This completes my list of top things to do in St. John’s, Newfoundland. Of course, I could add more to this list, but the activities I chose were the ones I appreciated the most, and I recommend them during your visit.

The adventure did not stop in St. John’s. Although the province’s capital is full of attractions, you will want to plan a road trip across Newfoundland to enjoy the many adventures of this fantastic Canadian province.

If you have more ideas that I could add to my list of things to do in St. John’s, please leave a comment or contact me. I would be delighted to hear what you enjoyed during your stay in St. John’s.

.

Similar Posts

10 Comments

  1. As a southern Ontario gal, St. John’s has been on my list of destinations for what seems like forever! Thanks for the reminder to bump it back to the top of my list!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *