Une semaine à Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise en hiver

Les petits villages nichés dans les montagnes des Rocheuses canadiennes regorgent de touristes qui profitent de la vue et des nombreuses activités de plein air en été. Mais pendant l'hiver, le charme de ces petites communautés devient apparent. Les montagnes enneigées, les lacs gelés et les paysages d'hiver méritent toute l'attention qu'ils reçoivent. Ils nous donnent une panoplie d'aventures en hiver à Canmore, Banff et Lake Louise. 

Nous avons passé une semaine dans ces trois villes, profitant du charme hivernal des Rocheuses canadiennes. Randonnées, visites touristiques, patinage et ski étaient au programme. Vous trouverez ci-dessous notre liste des meilleures choses à faire en hiver à Canmore, Banff et Lake Louise.

Vous n'avez pas le temps de lire maintenant ? Épinglez-le pour plus tard!

Winter in the Canadian Rockies' guide featuring frozen lake and snowy mountain
Road trip dans les Rocheuses canadiennes en hiver avec l'avenue Banff et la montagne Cascade en arrière plan

* Divulgation : cet article peut contenir des liens d'affiliation, ce qui signifie que je peux recevoir une commission sans frais supplémentaires pour vous si vous cliquez sur un lien. Pour en savoir plus

Où se trouve Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise ?

Les trois villages populaires de l'Alberta font partie des Rocheuses canadiennes. Ils sont situés à l'ouest de Calgary et au sud d'Edmonton, en Alberta. Banff et Lake Louise font tous deux partie du parc national de Banff.

Comment se rendre à Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise ?

En avion : L'aéroport le plus proche est l'aéroport international de Calgary (YYC), à 100 kilomètres de Canmore, à 120 kilomètres de Banff et à 180 kilomètres de Lake Louise.

En voiture : Les trois villes sont situées sur la route transcanadienne, l'autoroute 1 en Alberta.

Trouvez des vols abordables ici:

La température hivernale à Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise

Le temps hivernal à Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise oblige les visiteurs et les habitants à s'habiller pour résister au froid. Certaines journées seront ensoleillées et douces, avec des températures à peine inférieures à zéro (en degrés Celsius). D'autres jours verront un froid glacial et atteindront moins 30 ou plus sur le thermomètre.

Comment s'habiller en hiver à Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise ?

Habillez-vous pour l'hiver. C'est-à-dire un manteau d'hiver avec un pantalon de neige, une bonne paire de bottes d'hiver bien chaudes, une tuque, un foulard ou une écharpe et des mitaines. Si vous êtes actifs à l'extérieur, habillez-vous en couches avec la couche de base, de préférence un matériel qui évacue l'humidité. Mon choix est un ensemble de laine merino. Une couche intermédiaire est également efficace pour vous garder au chaud. Certains optent pour un chandail en micropolaire. J'évite généralement le coton.

Des sachets chauffe-mains et chauffe-pieds aideront également à garder vos doigts et vos orteils bien au chaud. J'en porte toujours dans mon sac à dos en hiver.

Les heures de claireté à Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise en hiver

Nous avons visité en janvier. Pendant la semaine que nous avons passée à Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise cet hiver, le soleil se levait quelques minutes avant 9 h. Il se couchait vers 16 h 45, ce qui nous donnait environ 8 heures de lumière le jour.

Il est crucial de tenir compte de l'heure du coucher du soleil, surtout si vous faites de la randonnée. Les jours d'hiver sont beaucoup plus courts que les jours d'été. Prévoyez d'être de retour au début du sentier à 16 h et ayez toujours avec vous une lampe frontale lorsque vous êtes sur les sentiers en hiver.

Restez en sécurité sur les sentiers d'hiver avec ces 15 conseils de randonnée hivernale.

7 jours des meilleures activités hivernales à Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise


Notre hébergement pour la semaine

Nous avons loué un studio sur Airbnb. La vue était incroyable, avec le balcon donnant sur Ha Ling et les pics Three Sisters. Le logement est tout près du centre-ville de Canmore; l'endroit idéal pour profiter de notre semaine à Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise. Vous pouvez consulter ce charmant condo au coeur de Canmore, loué par Dave et Emma.

Ci le condo ci-haut n'est pas disponible, il existe plusieurs options de petits condos parfait pour un séjour dans les montagnes. Vous pouvez trouver plusieurs excellentes options ici.

Jour 1 : Canmore en hiver

Après avoir atterri à Calgary et récupéré notre voiture de location au comptoir de location de l'aéroport, nous nous sommes dirigés vers Canmore sur l'autoroute transcanadienne (1 ouest). Nous avions du temps pour explorer avant de nous rendre à notre condo loué. C'était une journée ensoleillée, donc la randonnée était une option parfaite.

Randonnée

Le sentier du belvédère Three Sisters est une courte randonnée facile sur le lit de Cougar Creek à travers une zone boisée. Le sentier rejoint le ruisseau Policeman à quelques centaines de mètres. En hiver, les randonneurs peuvent se promener autour de l'étang gelé et profiter pleinement de la vue sur le pic des Three Sisters, le pic Ha Ling et le mont Lawrence Grassi.

Une autre excellente option pour une promenade avec des vues fantastiques est le sentier Policeman’s Creek Boardwalk. Ce sentier est une promenade facile de quatre kilomètres qui peut être appréciée en hiver. Il suit le ruisseau à travers Canmore, avec les montagnes environnantes bien en vue.

Three Sisters Peak Viewpoint in winter in Canmore

Shopping

Le centre-ville est habituellement bondé de touristes. La rue Main (l8th St) est l'endroit où se trouvent la plupart des magasins, boutiques de souvenirs, galeries d'art et restaurants. Nous nous sommes promenés, entrant et sortant des boutiques et des galeries et explorant cette charmante rue.

busy street in Canmore with the snowy mountains above the town

Restaurant

Nous avons apprécié notre repas à Graze Food and Drink. La nourriture est excellente et les serveuses sont amicales.

Jour 2 : Banff en hiver

La deuxième journée, nous nous sommes dirigés vers Bow Valley Parkway. Parcourir Bow Valley Parkway en toute saison est une expérience fantastique. En hiver, la route panoramique sinueuse à travers les montagnes est magique, avec les pins enneigés et les montagnes en arrière-plan.

Randonnée

Le sentier du canyon Johnston est un sentier très fréquenté en été, et il se transforme en un paradis hivernal une fois que la neige arrive et que l'eau gèle. Le sentier du canyon Johnston est une destination populaire sur la liste des meilleures activités hivernales à Banff. Le sentier jusqu'aux chutes est de 2,5 kilomètres.

Les randonneurs marchent le long de la rivière au fond du canyon et sur des ponts le long des parois rocheuses couvertes de glace et de neige. Assurez-vous de vous habiller chaudement, car le canyon est toujours plus froid et plus humide. Crampons pour glace seront utiles pour rendre la marche plus agréable et beaucoup moins glissante.

walking in Johnston Canyon in winter in Banff

*Alerte aux chaises rouges!

Le sentier Tunnel Mountain est une autre randonnée magnifique en toute saison. En hiver, il serait utile de porter des crampons pour glace. Le sentier fait quatre kilomètres aller-retour. Il y a quelques sections raides. La randonnée est considérée comme modérée. Les vues au sommet sont superbes. Les chaises rouges de Parcs Canada offrent une belle pause avec vue sur Banff et les montagnes. 

The red chairs on Tunnel Mountain in winter in Banff

Attrait

*Alerte aux chaises rouges!

Le lac Two Jack est une aire de fréquentation diurne où les visiteurs peuvent profiter des chaises rouges de Parcs Canada donnant sur le mont Rundle au-delà du lac Two Jack. Certains aiment aussi patiner sur le lac ou faire une randonnée sur la rive. La scène était incroyablement merveilleuse au crépuscule, avec le ciel coloré avant le coucher du soleil.

red chairs on Two Jack Lake in winter in Banff

Nous avons également visiter l'hôtel Fairmont Banff Spring. La galerie d'art est intéressante et originale. Il y a aussi quelques boutiques pour faire du shopping. Même le lobby est impressionnant. Ce château vieux de 130 ans est un point de repère de la ville. C'est un site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO niché dans les montagnes.

The Fairmont Banff Spring Hotel with Cascade Mountain behind it

Restaurant

Pour notre deuxième souper, nous avons profité d'un repas et d'un breuvage au Banff Ave Brewing Co à Banff. L'atmosphère est agréable et la nourriture est savoureuse!

Jour 3 : Banff en hiver

Randonnée

Le sentier du canyon Stewart est une superbe promenade le long du lac Minnewanka jusqu'au pont traversant la rivière Cascade et dans la forêt sur la crête du canyon. Cette randonnée facile est de sept kilomètres avec peu de dénivelé. Je recommande de porter des crampons. Ils seront utiles en marchant sur la neige. 

View of the Stewart Canyon from the trail in winter in Banff

Attrait

*Alerte aux chaises rouges!

Le lac Minnewanka est une aire de fréquentation diurne où les visiteurs peuvent soit patiner sur le lac gelé, profiter d'un feu, se promener sur la rive ou se prélasser dans l'une des chaises rouges de Parcs Canada. Les vues sont superbes. 

red chairs on frozen Lake Minnewanka in winter in Banff

Gondole de Banff Nightrise

L'une des principales attractions de notre liste d'activités hivernales à Banff est la Gondole de Banff et Nightrise. Nous avons pris la télécabine une heure avant le coucher du soleil pour profiter de la vue au sommet alors que le soleil se couchait derrière la chaîne de montagnes. Le ciel rose et la lune au-dessus du mont Rundle formaient une scène unique. 

view of the snowy mountain range from Sulphur on the Banff Gondola Nightrise in winter

Après le coucher du soleil, Banff s'est illuminé et a apporté une autre vue incroyable avec la montagne Cascade derrière. Et puis, le spectacle de lumière a commencé. Nous nous sommes bien amusés et je recommande vivement le Nightrise si vous êtes à Banff en hiver.

Night view of Banff illuminated by street lights and Cascade Mountain in winter
Light show on Nightrise in Banff

Restaurant

Le Canadian Brewhouse à Banff est un choix populaire pour les touristes et les habitants. Les bar sportif attire les amis et les familles.

Jour 4 : Canmore en hiver

Three Sisters Parkway qui se transforme en Smith Dorrien Trail, est une route sinueuse pleine de scènes époustouflantes en cours de route. Avec des lacs et des montagnes mais aussi avec des panneaux avertissant les conducteurs des dangers de cette route de montagne dans une zone d'avalanche, ce trajet est une expérience typique des Rocheuses. Un véhicule approprié avec des pneus d'hhiver et une traction intégrale ou un 4×4 est indispensable sur cette route de montagne sinueuse et enneigée. 

View of Spray Lake Reservoir and surrounding mountains from the Three Sisters Parkway in winer in Canmore

Randonnée

Le sentier du lac Chester dans le parc provincial Peter Lougheed est au sud de Canmore sur Smith Dorrien Trail. Il s'agit d'un sentier modéré de 7 kilomètres à travers la forêt et les prairies jusqu'au lac Chester. La première partie de cette randonnée est assez raide et nécessite soit des crampons ou des raquettes. Les bâtons de randonnée sont également utiles.

Le sentier amène les randonneurs dans un majestueux pays des merveilles hivernales avec les montagnes en toile de fond. Les prairies sont une scène magnifique. Prenez le temps pour un goûter et de vous détendre sur le lac Chester avant de reprendre le même chemin pour le retour.

meadow with snow-covered pine trees and mountains in the distance on Chester Lake Trail in winter

Restaurant

Nous avons passé une belle soirée au Grizzly Paw Pub and Brewing Co à Canmore. Leur sélection de bières artisanales Summit Series est géniale.

Grizzly Paw Pub and Brewing co bar

Jour 5 : Lac Louise en hiver

Nous nous sommes dirigés vers l'ouest sur la route transcanadienne (autoroute 1 ouest) de Canmore à Lac Louise. Lac Louise est à environ 80 kilomètres de Canmore. 

Ski

Nous nous sommes rendu au centre de ski du Lac Louise pour une journée de ski. La station abrite de fantastiques pistes de ski ou de planche à neige. Elle est la plus grande station de ski des Rocheuses canadiennes. Il y a aussi des sentiers de raquettes et un parc à tubes sur la montagne. Si vous n'avez pas d'équipement, la boutique de location du centre vous équipera de tout ce dont vous avez besoin. 

La station dispose de 11 remontées mécaniques dont une télécabine et de 164 pistes de tous les niveaux. L'altitude maximale est de 2637 mètres et la plus longue piste est de 8 kilomètres - des heures de joie sur la neige. 

The gondolas and skiers at the Lake Louise Ski Resort

Le ski est l'une des meilleures activités hivernales à Banff ou à Lac Louise. Pour un défi supplémentaire, vous pouvez skier le Big 3. SkiBig3 comprend le ski sur le mont Norquay, au Banff Sunshine Village et à au centre de ski de Lac Louise. Si vous skiez dans les trois stations de ski, rendez-vous au Adventure Hub de Banff pour obtenir votre badge SkiBig3.

Skiing at the Lake Louise Ski Resort with the mountains across the ski hill

Restaurant

Nous avons soupé au Park Distillery Restaurant and Bar à Banff. C'est un endroit idéal pour prendre quelques verres et manger un repas.

Jour 6 : Lac Louise et Banff en hiver

Patinage 

Un voyage d'hiver dans les Rocheuses canadiennes ne peut être complet sans faire du patin sur le lac Louise. Le plus beau lac du pays devient une célèbre patinoire une fois qu'il gèle. Profitez du patinage sur le lac entouré de montagnes. 

Vous pouvez louer des patins selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi au Chateau du Lac Louise. Cependant, pendant les journées achalandées, en particulier les week-ends, il peut être judicieux de louer des patins à Banff ou à Canmore dans la plupart des magasins de sport. Nous avons loué les nôtres à Gear Up Mountain Sports Rental and Services.

Randonnée

Le sentier du belvédère Fairview commence à l'aire de fréquentation diurne du lac Louise. Le sentier est une courte randonnée de 2 kilomètres dans une forêt de pins jusqu'à un belvédère sur le lac Louise et le Fairmont Chateau Lac Louise. Il y a quelques passages raides, et la neige le rend très glissant. Crampons pour glace ou des raquettes sont essentiels. 

View of Lake Louise, the skaters and Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise from the Fairview Lookout in winter

Shopping

Nous nous sommes promenés sur l'avenue Banff, explorant les magasins, les boutiques de souvenirs et les galeries d'art. L'avenue Banff est spéciale avec la montagne Cascade qui se dresse au bout de la route comme la gardienne de la ville.

Banff Avenue with Cascade Mountain overlooking the town of Banff

Temps de relaxation

Une soirée dans la piscine chaude du Banff Upper Hot Springs est parfait après des journées sur les sentiers, sur les pentes de ski ou sur les patinoires. Les Banff Upper Hot Springs sont situés sur la montagne Sulphur et fonctionnent selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

Restaurant

Nous nous sommes bien divertis au Where the Buffalo Roam Saloon à Canmore. La place est petite mais confortable et charmante. De plus, leurs créations maisons de beuvrages sont originales et délicieuses.

drinks at Where the Buffalo Roam Saloon in Canmore

Jour 7 : Canmore en hiver

Pour notre dernière journée à Canmore, nous avons opté pour une randonnée. Nous nous sommes dirigés sur la promenade Three Sisters jusqu'au parc provincial Bow Valley. 

Randonnée

Le sentier de la montage Little Lougheed est une randonnée difficile de 5 kilomètres jusqu'au sommet de la montagne. Il fait un peu plus de 700 mètres de dénivelé positif, atteignant les 2483 mètres d'altitude au sommet. C'est une randonnée sérieuse et difficilie, l'équipement approprié est essentiel. L'effort est constant sur ce sentier escarpé, mais les vues sont superbes.

View from the trail on Little Lougheed Mountain in winter in Canmore

D'autres activités et attractions d'hiver à Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise

  • Tour de traîneau à chiens 
  • Ski de fond au Nordic Centre de Canmore
  • Randonnée sur glace au sentier du canyon Grotto à Canmore
  • Raquettes sur le sentier du lac Rawson au parc provincial Peter Lougheed près de Canmore
  • Une visite au musée à Canmore et à Banff
  • Randonnée sur la boucle de Cascade Pond
  • Une promenade sur la rive du lac Louise
  • Ski de fond sur le lac Louise
  • Tour de charette tiré par les chevaux
  • Une baignade ou de l'escalade à Elevation Place à Canmore
  • Une promenade sur le sentier River Walk jusqu'au vieux pont de train à Canmore
  • Une visite au lieu historique national Cave and Basin à Banff

Une belle semaine en hiver à Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise

Les Rocheuses canadiennes regorgent d'aventures merveilleuses, et l'hiver ajoute à cette liste. Cet itinéraire d'une semaine, explorant Canmore, Banff et Lac Louise en hiver, était mémorable et unique. Il y a de nombreus attraits et aventures dans les Rocheuses canadiennes en toute saison. Vous pourriez également profiter d'un road trip à explorer les cinq parcs nationaux des Rocheuses parmi ces montagnes majestueuses.

.

Articles similaires

6 Comments

  1. Thanks for putting together such a thorough and informative guide! I’ll be saving this in case I ever get the opportunity to visit!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Winter in Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise: one-week itinerary

The little towns nestled in the mountains of the Canadian Rockies are full of tourists who enjoy the views and the many outdoor activities in the summer. But during winter, the charm of those small mountain towns becomes apparent. The snow-covered mountains, the frozen lakes and the snowy landscapes deserve all the attention they get. They play a significant part in the winter’s top things to do in Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise. 

We spent one week in those three mountain towns, enjoying the winter charm of the Canadian Rockies. Hiking, sightseeing, skating and skiing were all on the agenda. Below is our list of top things to do in winter in Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise.

Don’t have time to read? Pin it for later.

Winter in the Canadian Rockies' guide featuring frozen lake and snowy mountain
Road trip dans les Rocheuses canadiennes en hiver avec l'avenue Banff et la montagne Cascade en arrière plan

*Discloser: This article may contain affiliate links, meaning I may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you purchase through a link. More information

Where are Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise?

The popular towns of Alberta are part of the Canadian Rockies. They are west of Calgary and south of Edmonton, Alberta. Banff and Lake Louise are both part of the Banff National Park.

How to get to Canmore, Banff or Lake Louise?

Flying: The closest airport is the Calgary International Airport (YYC), which is 100 km to Canmore, 120 km to Banff, and 180 km to Lake Louise.

Driving: All three towns are on the Trans-Canada Highway, Highway 1 in Alberta.

Find cheap flights here:

Winter Weather in Canmore, Banff or Lake Louise

Winter weather in Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise requires visitors and locals to dress up to withstand the cold. Some days will be sunny and mild, with barely below zero temperatures (in degrees Celsius). Other days will see frigid cold and reach minus 30 or colder on the thermometer.

How should I Dress for Winter in Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise?

Dress for winter. This means a winter jacket with snow pants, a good warm pair of snow boots, a toque, neck gator or scarf and mittens. If you are active outdoors, dress in layers with the underlayer, preferably a material that wicks moisture away. My favourite is a merino wool undershirt and pants. A mid-layer is also efficient in keeping you warm. Some opt for fleece. I usually stay away from cotton.

Hand and toe warmers will also help keep your fingers and toes cozy in the cold. I always carry some in my backpack in the winter.

How much Daylight is There in Winter in Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise?

We visited in January. During the week we spent in Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise this winter, the sun would rise a few minutes before 9 am. It would set around 4:45 pm, giving us about 8 hours of daylight.

It is crucial to consider the sunset time, especially if you are hiking. Winter days are much shorter than summer days. Plan to be back at the trailhead by 4 pm and always carry a headlamp when hiking in the winter.

Stay safe on the trails in the winter with these 15 winter hiking tips.

One Week of the Best Winter Activities in Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise


Our Accommodation for the week

We rented a studio on Airbnb. The view was amazing, with the balcony looking out to Ha Ling and Three Sisters Peak. It was in downtown Canmore and the perfect location to enjoy our week in Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise. You can check out this charming condo in the heart of Canmore, rented by Dave and Emma.

If that one is unavailable, there are many options for small condos that are perfect for one week in the mountains. You can find a few excellent options here.

Day 1: Winter in Canmore

After landing in Calgary and picking up our rental car from the airport car rental counter, we headed towards Canmore on Highway 1 West. We had some time to kill before checking into our rented condo. It was a sunny day, so hiking was a perfect option.

Hiking

Three Sisters Viewpoint is a short, easy hike on the Cougar Creek bed through a wooded area. The trail comes to the Policeman’s Creek within a few hundred metres. In the winter, hikers can walk around the frozen pond and fully enjoy the view of Three Sisters Peak, Ha Ling Peak and Mount Lawrence Grassi.

Another great option for a leisure walk with fantastic views is the Policeman’s Creek Boardwalk. This trail is an easy four-kilometre walk that can be enjoyed in the winter. It follows the creek through Canmore, with the surrounding mountains in full view.

Three Sisters Peak Viewpoint in winter in Canmore

Shopping

Downtown Canmore gets busy with tourists. Main Street (8th Street) is where most of the boutiques, souvenir shops, art galleries and restaurants are. We took a stroll, hopping in and out of boutiques and galleries and exploring this charming street.

busy street in Canmore with the snowy mountains above the town

Eating out

We enjoyed eating out at the Graze Food and Drink. The food was excellent, and the staff was friendly.

Day 2: Winter in Banff

On day two, we headed out to Bow Valley Parkway. Driving the Bow Valley Parkway in any season is a fantastic experience. In the winter, the scenic winding road through the mountains is magical, with the snow-covered pines and the mountains in the background.

Hiking

Johnston Canyon is a busy trail in the summer, and it turns into a winter wonderland once the snow comes and the water freezes. The Johnston Canyon Icewalk is a popular destination on our top things to do in winter in Banff. It is 2.5 kilometres to the lower falls and back.

Hikers walk along the river at the bottom of the canyon and on bridges with rock walls covered in ice and snow. Make sure to dress warmly, as the canyon is always colder and more humid. Microspikes will make this walk more enjoyable and a lot less slippery.

walking in Johnston Canyon in winter in Banff

*Red Chairs Alert!

Tunnel Mountain Hike is another stunning hike in any season. In winter, it would be helpful to wear icers or microspikes. The trail is four kilometres out and back. It has some steep sections and is considered moderate. The views at the top are stunning. Parks Canada’s red chairs offer a nice break with a view of Banff and the mountains. 

The red chairs on Tunnel Mountain in winter in Banff

Sightseeing

*Red Chairs Alert!

Two Jack Lake is a day-use area where visitors can enjoy Parks Canada’s red chairs looking out at Mount Rundle beyond Two Jack Lake. Some also enjoy skating on the lake or a hike on the shore. The scene was incredibly wonderful just before dusk, with the coloured sky before sunset.

red chairs on Two Jack Lake in winter in Banff

We visited the Fairmont Banff Spring Hotel. The art gallery is interesting and original. There are also a few boutiques for shopping. Just seeing the lobby is impressive. This 130-year-old castle is a landmark of the mountain town. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site nestled in the mountains.

The Fairmont Banff Spring Hotel with Cascade Mountain behind it

Eating out

On our second night, we enjoyed dinner and a drink at the Banff Ave Brewing Co in Banff. The atmosphere was fun, and the food was great!

Day 3: Winter in Banff

Hiking

Stewart Canyon Hike is a stunning walk along Lake Minnewanka to the bridge crossing Cascade River and in the forest on the ridge of the canyon. This easy hike is seven kilometres with little elevation. I recommend wearing microspikes. They will be helpful walking in the packed snow. 

View of the Stewart Canyon from the trail in winter in Banff

Sightseeing

*Red Chairs Alert!

Lake Minnewanda is a day-use area where visitors can either skate on the frozen lake, enjoy a fire, take a walk on the shore or lounge in one of the Parks Canada red chairs. The views are stunning. 

red chairs on frozen Lake Minnewanka in winter in Banff

Banff Gondola Nightrise

One of the major attractions on our list of things to do in the winter in Banff is the Banff Gondola Nightrise. We took the gondola an hour before sunset to enjoy the view at the top while the sun was setting behind the mountain range. The pink sky and the moon above Mount Rundle were unique sights. 

view of the snowy mountain range from Sulphur on the Banff Gondola Nightrise in winter

After sunset, Banff lit up and brought another amazing sight with Cascade Mountain behind it. And then, the light show began. We had a blast, and I highly recommend the Nightrise if you are in Banff in the winter.

Night view of Banff illuminated by street lights and Cascade Mountain in winter
Light show on Nightrise in Banff

Eating out

The Canadian Brewhouse in Banff is a popular choice for tourists and locals alike. The sports bar attracts friends and family.

Day 4: Winter in Canmore

Three Sisters Parkway which eventually turns into the Smith Dorrien Trail, is a winding road full of stunning scenes along the way. With lakes and mountains but also with signs warning drivers of the dangers of this mountain road in an avalanche area, this drive is a typical Rocky Mountains experience. An appropriate vehicle with snow tires and either all-drive or 4×4 is a must on this winding, snow-covered mountain road. 

View of Spray Lake Reservoir and surrounding mountains from the Three Sisters Parkway in winer in Canmore

Hiking

Chester Lake Trail in Peter Lougheed Provincial Park is south of Canmore on the Smith Dorrien Trail. It is a 7-kilometre moderate trail through forest and meadows to Chester Lake. The first part of this hike is quite steep and requires either microspikes or snowshoes. Hiking poles will also help.

The trail brings hikers to a majestic winter wonderland with mountains as a backdrop. The meadows are a stunning scene. Take time to eat and relax on Lake Chester before heading back the same way.

meadow with snow-covered pine trees and mountains in the distance on Chester Lake Trail in winter

Eating out

We had a fantastic time at the Grizzly Paw Pub and Brewing Co in Canmore. Their  Summit Series selection of craft beer is awesome.

Grizzly Paw Pub and Brewing co bar

Day 5: Winter in Lake Louise

We headed west on the Trans-Canada Highway (Highway 1) from Canmore to Lake Louise. Lake Louise is roughly 80 kilometres from Canmore. 

Skiing

We headed out to Lake Louise Ski Resort for a day of skiing. The resort is home to fantastic ski and snowboarding runs and is the biggest ski resort in the Canadian Rockies. There is also snowshoeing and a tube park on the mountain. If you don’t have any equipment, the rental store at the resort will outfit you with all you need. 

The resort has 11 lifts, including a gondola, and 164 runs of all levels. The top elevation is 2637 metres, and the longest run is 8 kilometres—hours of joy on snow. 

The gondolas and skiers at the Lake Louise Ski Resort

Skiing is one of the best winter activities in Banff or Lake Louise. For an added challenge, you can ski the Big 3. SkiBig3 includes skiing on Mount Norquay, at Banff Sunshine Village, and the Lake Louise Ski Resort. If you ski at all three ski hills, drop by the Adventure Hub in Banff to get your SkiBig3 badge.

Skiing at the Lake Louise Ski Resort with the mountains across the ski hill

Eating out

We had dinner at the Park Distillery Restaurant and Bar in Banff. This is a great place to have a few drinks and grab a bite.

Day 6: Winter in Lake Louise and Banff

Skating 

No winter trip to the Canadian Rockies is complete without skating on Lake Louise. The most beautiful lake in the country becomes a famous skating rink once it freezes over. Enjoy skating on the lake surrounded by mountains. 

You can rent skates on a first-come, first-served basis at the Lake in the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. However, during busy days, especially on weekends, renting skates in Banff or Canmore at most sporting stores might be wise. We rented ours at Gear Up Mountain Sports Rental and Services.

Hiking

Fairview Lookout Trail starts at the Lake Louise day-use area. The trail is a short 2-kilometre hike in a pine forest to a lookout of Lake Louise and Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. There are some steep sections, and the snow makes it very slippery. Microspikes or snowshoes will fix that. 

View of Lake Louise, the skaters and Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise from the Fairview Lookout in winter

Shopping

We strolled down Banff Avenue, exploring the boutiques, souvenir shops and galleries. Banff Avenue is special with Cascade Mountain standing tall at the end of the road like it is guarding the town.

Banff Avenue with Cascade Mountain overlooking the town of Banff

Relaxing Time

An evening in the hot pool of the Banff Upper Hot Springs is perfect after days on the trails, on ski hills or on skating rinks. The Banff Upper Hot Springs are located on Sulphur Mountain and operate on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Eating out

We had a great time at Where the Buffalo Roam Saloon in Canmore. The place is small and cozy but full of charms. Their house creations are tasty drinks.

drinks at Where the Buffalo Roam Saloon in Canmore

Day 7: Winter in Canmore

For our last day in Canmore, we opted for a hike and headed on the Three Sisters Parkway to Bow Valley Provincial Park. 

Hiking

Little Lougheed Mountain Trail is a challenging 5-kilometre hike to the mountain’s summit. It has a little over 700 metres of elevation gain, reaching the summit’s 2483 metres of altitude. This is a serious hike, and proper gear is essential. The effort is constant on this steep trail, but the views are stunning.

View from the trail on Little Lougheed Mountain in winter in Canmore

More Things to do in Winter in Canmore, Banff or Lake Louise

  • Dog Sled Tour 
  • Cross-country ski at the Canmore Nordic Center
  • Hike the Grotto Canyon Ice Walk in Canmore
  • Snowshoe Rawson Lake Trail in Peter Lougheed Provincial Park near Canmore
  • Visit Museums in Canmore and Banff
  • Hike Cascade Pond Loop in Banff
  • Walk the Lake Louise Lakeshore Trail.
  • Cross-country ski on Lake Louise
  • Horse-drawn sleigh ride in Banff or Lake Louise
  • Swim or climb at the Elevation Place in Canmore
  • Walk on the River Walk Trail to the Engine Bridge in Canmore
  • Visit the National Historic Site Cave and Basin in Banff

Last Words on Winter in Canmore, Banff and Lake Louise

The Canadian Rockies are full of marvellous adventures, and wintertime adds even more to the list. This one-week itinerary, exploring Canmore, Banff, and Lake Louise in winter, was thrilling. There are numerous things to do in the Canadian Rockies in any season. You might also enjoy a road trip exploring five national parks through those great mountains.

.

Similar Posts